velo club cumbria

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 04-Aug-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: L5012
  • Closing Date: 24-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bickley and Lukas power to 50-mile win in Keswick

  • Published: 05 Aug 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Richard Bickley won the VC Cumbria 50 in the sun on Saturday in what was a very keenly contested event, with Katie Lukas winning the women’s category.

Katie Lukas

The Border City Wheelers rider was just 32 seconds quicker than second-placed rider Philip Jones of Transition Race Team who completed in 1:42.50.

That’s two wins on the bounce for Bickley who has been on the podium more often than not this campaign.

He’s now won four events this year with other victories coming in the Pendle Forest CC 10, the Border City Wheelers 10 and the VC Cumbria 25, showing his ability to be competitive over any distance.

Completing the podium in third place was Tom Rigby of Croston Velo, 1.16 off the pace of Jones in a time of 1:44.06.

The quickest veteran on the day was Stephen Irwin who finished fourth overall, the Lancashire Road Club rider completing in 1:44.31. Second quickest veteran was Craig Horseman, in fifth place overall, in a time of 1:47.09 for Beacon Wheelers.

Katie Lukas was the fastest woman on the day, the Beacon Wheelers rider stopping the clock at 1:57.05 to take first place. Charlotte Boothman of ABC Centreville’s time of 2:03.46 was enough to give her second and in third it was Zoe Whiteside of Team Bottrill / Vanguard in 2:08:12.

The team prize went to Border City Wheelers with the trio of Richard Bickley, Adrian Sowerby and Mike Westmorland combining for a total of 5:44.19.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Richard Bickley Border City Wheelers CC 01:42:18

2 Philip Jones Transition Race Team 01:42:50

3 Tom Rigby Croston Velo 01:44:06

4 Stephen Irwin North Lancashire Road Club 01:44:31

5 Craig Horseman Beacon Wheelers 01:47:09

6 Scott Smith Barrow Central Wheelers 01:47:27

7 David Gleave Velo Club Cumbria 01:49:39

8 Dan Taylor RT - Fitted and Tailored Car Covers 01:51:11

9 Paul David Fleming Preston Whs 01:51:37

10 Kieran Lacey Barrow Central Wheelers 01:51:44

11 Sean Owens Croston Velo 01:53:46

12 Tom Roper University of Liverpool Cycling Club 01:53:49

13 Martin Bailey Southport CC 01:55:39

14 Peter Howarth Stretford Wheelers CC 01:55:47

15 Kevin Chadwick Lakes Road Club 01:55:54

16 Phil Shaw Kent Valley RC 01:56:22

17 Graham Jones Edinburgh Road Club 01:56:54

18 Katie Lukas Beacon Wheelers 01:57:05

19 Paul Taylor North Lancashire Road Club 01:57:14

20 David Wright Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering/RS Cyclesport 01:58:50

21 David Thompson Rock to Roll CC 01:58:52

22 Kenneth Brown Velo Club Cumbria 01:58:58

23 Danny Mccabe Garstang CC 01:59:05

24 Adrian Sowerby Border City Whs CC 01:59:10

25 Paul Russell Springfield Financial Racing Team 01:59:40

26 John Mason Velo Club Cumbria 02:00:27

27 Kenneth Brown Velo Club Cumbria 02:00:32

28 Lee Spoor Tri Preston 02:01:04

29 Stephen I'anson Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles 02:01:30

30 Mick Black Springfield Financial Racing Team 02:01:38

31 Ian Elliot Hawick Cycling Club 02:02:10

32 Julian Cook Velo Club Cumbria 02:02:21

33 Mike Westmorland Border City Whs CC 02:02:51

34 Charlotte Boothman ABC Centreville 02:03:46

35 Mark Hulme West Pennine Road Club 02:04:26

36 Steve Wilkinson Nelson Whs CC 02:05:41

37 Tim Bennett Kent Valley RC 02:06:58

38 Kenneth Addison Southport CC 02:07:04

39 Martin Kerry Lancashire RC 02:07:51

40 Zoe Whiteside Team Bottrill / Vanguard 02:08:12

41 Sue Cheetham North Lancashire Road Club 02:09:04

42 Emma Houterman North Lancashire Road Club 02:09:53

43 Hope Kerry Team Lusso 02:12:47

44 Carol Westmorland Border City Whs CC 02:13:20

45 Phil Wright Hartlepool CC 02:13:23

46 Laura Johnston Tri Lakeland 02:19:42

47 Theresa Taylor Ribble Valley Crossroads Care Cycling Team 02:19:46

48 Tony Shaw Nelson Whs CC 02:19:54

49 Craig Wilson Nelson Whs CC 02:20:04

50 Rob Tweddle Tri Lakeland 02:21:09

51 William Armstrong Velo Club Cumbria 02:23:51

52 Paul Revell Barrow Central Wheelers 02:23:57

53 Clifford Degraff Velo Club Cumbria 02:25:05

54 Mhairi Wear Beacon Wheelers 02:25:48

55 Kath Finn Kendal Cycle Club 02:28:45

DNF Patrick Pennefather Border City Whs CC

DNF David Golden Army Cycling Union

DNF Denis Thompson West Pennine Road Club

DNF Thomas Mcneish Royal Albert CC

DNF Simon Hayes Velo Club Cumbria