bdca (men)(preference to bdca members)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Apr-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: a10/19
  • Closing Date: 17-Apr-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Barnett and Ledger seal BDCA wins for Team Bottrill

  • Published: 29 Apr 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Karen Ledger.

Team Bottrill/Vanguard team-mates Karen Ledger and Daniel Barnett took the women’s and men’s victories respectively in the Burton and District 10-mile time trial on Saturday.

Veteran rider Barnett was beaten into second in the City RC Hull 10 and third in the VTTA 10 earlier this season but took the top spot on this occasion.

Wet and cold conditions put many off competing on the A10/19 course which saw riders start on the A516 near Etwall before travelling out along the A50 dual carriageway before making the same return route.

Despite the temperature only reaching eight degrees Barnett put in a winning time of 20 minutes dead which was enough for a six-second victory.

A tightly packed men’s field saw the top 10 riders all finish within a minute of Barnett with less than 10 seconds separating the top three.

Barnett finished six seconds faster than Jonathan Wears (Nopinz) in 20.06 while Oliver Peckover (Team KTM UK) finished a further three seconds behind.

In a closely-fought women’s even Karen Ledger (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) took the victory by over a minute finishing in 21 minutes and 54 seconds.

Ledger also took victory in the BDCA 25 and the VTTA 10 earlier this month.

Susan Semple (Born to Bike-Bridgtown Cycles) led the fight for second finishing in 23.04, with the next five riders separated by a minute.

She was followed just eight seconds behind by Kate Giddings (Liverpool Century RC) in 23.12.

Fastest junior was Ewan Mackie (Matlock CC) who clocked 21.56 while Isaac Russell (Derby Mercury) was quickest juvenile in 22.09.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Daniel Barnett (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) 20.00

2 Jonathan Wears (Nopinz) 20.06

3 Oliver Peckover (Team KTM UK) 20.09

4 John Lucock (Police Sport UK CRT) 20.11

5 Michael Smith (Raw Sport) 20.25

6 Lee Tunnicliffe (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) 20.32

7 Mark Bottrill (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) 20.36

8 Neal Parkin (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) 20.49

9 Toby Williams (Liverpool Phoenix CC) 20.52

10 Chris Ledger (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) 20.55

Veteran: Daniel Barnett (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) 20.00


1 Karen Ledger (Team Bottrill-Vanguard)     21.54

2 Susan Semple (Born to Bike-Bridgtown Cycles)    23.04

3 Kate Giddings (Liverpool Century RC)      23.12