cc breckland (entries close 12/12/17)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Jan-18
  • Time: 11:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: B10/3B
  • Closing Date: 12-Dec-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Berry and Benyon winners in CC Breckland 10

  • Published: 02 Jan 18
F | T | G+
Cindy Berry.

Cindy Berry and Ben Benyon were fastest female and male riders at the annual CC Breckland New Year’s Day 10-mile time trial in Norfolk, the couple securing the lion’s share of the prizes at Attleborough.

Team Pedal Revolution’s Ben Benyon clocked 20.12 to win by 15 seconds from Luke Danckert (Bedfordshire Roads CC), while Morris Bacon (DAP CC) was third, another 22 seconds off Benyon’s pace.

Benyon, 23 and from Beverley in East Yorkshire, now lives in Norwich as a student at the University of East Anglia. His girlfriend Cindy Berry is also a student there, although originally from Borehamwood, and she also celebrated victory in the women’s event for Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich.

A frequent road racer for BowlPhish Racing in 2017, Berry clocked a time of 23-27 to give her the win by almost three minutes from runner-up Stephanie Hoyle (Diss & Dist CC), while third was Stowmarket and District CC rider Emma Taylor, another minute back.

Among Benyon’s 2017 results in time trialling was fourth in last year’s CC Breckland New Year’s Day 10 when he was more than two and a half minutes slower with 22-54. Other results last season included fourth in the Diss & District CC 10 in May, fifth in both the Ely and District Hardriders 25 in February and VC Baracchi 10 in September, as well as Sixth in the Stowmarket and District 10 in May.

Cindy Berry combined time trialling and road racing in 2017.

Against the clock she was fastest female at the Ely and District Hardriders 25 last February, while she was also best woman at the Diss and District 10 in May, the Godric CC 25 and the Norwich ABC 10 in September.

In bunched racing, Berry placed second in the BUCS University Circuit Championship in York in May, and won rounds of both the RAF Honington Circuit Series and the Lotus Cars League.

The course takes riders along the A11, starting at Attleborough before heading south, turning around, then returning to north of the start point, with the finish near Besthorpe.

Although it was dry for the event, it had been windy overnight. Although it had died down somewhat in time for the event, there was a tailwind on the outward leg which proved a help to most.

The promoting CC Breckland secured the team prize with Tom Carroll, Paul Sexton and Nick Parravani forming the winning trio.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.





1. Ben Benyon (Team Pedal Revolution)       20.12

2. Luke Danckert (Bedfordshire Roads RT)  20.27

3. Morris Bacon (DAP CC)    20.49

4. Oliver Cozens (Norwich ABC)      21.57

5. Colin Lewin (Velo Schils-interbike)           22.13

6. James Potter (Manningtree Wheelers)        22.18


1. Cindy Berry (Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich)           23.27

2. Stephanie Hoyle (Diss & Dist CC) 26.24

3. Emma Taylor (Stowmarket & Dist CC)     27.38

Team: CC Breckland (Tom Carroll 22-27, Paul Sexton 22-44, Nick Parravani 26-13) 1-11-24