drighlington bc (cheques to w fitch)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 21-Oct-17
  • Time: 09:30
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: v9917
  • Closing Date: 10-Oct-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Savage storms to record-breaking Drighlington victory

  • Published: 22 Oct 17
F | T | G+
Kieran Savage.

Kieran Savage (B38-Underpin Racing) broke the course record as he took victory in the one-kilometre Drighlington BC hill-climb on Scotchman Lane, Batley, on Saturday.

The 20-year-old from Leeds clocked 2:38.6 for the West Yorkshire climb, 3.2 seconds quicker than team-mate and runner-up Calum Brown (B38-Underpin Racing), while Eugene Cross (Team KTM ) was third, another 2.9 seconds back.

It was Savage’s penultimate open race before he rides the National Hill-Climb Championships in Northumberland next week, and he will be hoping for his form to remain as he challenges for glory at Hedley on the Hill.

He has already tasted victory this season in the North East, having won the Blaydon CC two-stage on October 8, and he also put in strong rides as he finished second in the Huddersfield Star Wheelers climb as well as the Chesterfield Coureurs hill-climb last weekend.

With in-form Rebecca Goodson (Velo Schils) choosing not to ride the event, Nicola Bradford (Albarosa CC) was the fastest female, covering the course in 5:27.7.

Conditions were good for the event despite strong overnight winds, with a tailwind on most sections of the course. And newly-laid tarmac towards the top coupled with the good surface on the bottom areas meant a great surface was provided for the event.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



No    Rider Club  Ride Time

1     Kieran Savage     Team B38/Underpin Racing      2:38.6

2     Calum Brown Team B38/Underpin Racing      2:41.8

3     Eugene Cross      Team KTM    2:44.7

4     Jacob Vezey Harrogate Nova CC 2:52.4

5     Tommy Dawson      Yorkshire Road Club     3:00.9

6     Jonathan Bridge   Zappi Racing Team 3:01.9

7     Rob Watkinson     Doncaster Wheelers CC   3:03.0

8     Mark Jagger Harrogate Nova CC 3:08.1

9     David Barnett     Jackpot Racing    3:10.6

10    Martin Portman    Yorkshire Road Club     3:18.3

11    James Wakefield   Huddersfield Star Wheelers    3:21.0

12    Tomasz Parzyk     Drighlington BC   3:21.7

13    Benjamin Hall     Valley Striders Cycling Club  3:26.9

14    Thomas Brabbin    Halifax Imperial Wheelers     3:45.0

15    Neil Wilcock      Drighlington BC   3:56.5

16    Phil Ramsden      Drighlington BC   4:05.9

17    Paul Brierley     Huddersfield RC   4:07.1

18    Andrew Bolton     Otley CC    4:14.8

19    Rob Jones   Drighlington BC   4:20.4

20    Sean Sanders      Drighlington BC   4:22.9

21    Thom Burgess      Drighlington BC   4:33.9

22    Cliff Beldon      Selby CC    5:17.5

23    Paul Davies Drighlington BC   5:17.6

24    Nicola Bradford   Albarosa CC 5:27.7

25    Jacob Barnett     Kirklees Cycling Academy      7:09.4

      Kieran Manchester Saddleworth Clarion CC  DNS

      Matthew Hallam    Valley Striders Cycling Club  DNS

      Rebecca Goodson   Velo Schils Interbike CC      DNS