wigmore cc (inc. kent ca championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Oct-17
  • Time: 10:30
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: QHC/11
  • Closing Date: 22-Sep-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Course records fall at Hollingbourne Hill

  • Published: 01 Oct 17
F | T | G+
James Hayward

James Hayward and Jacintha Hamilton-Love both put in excellent performances as both the men’s and women’s course records were broken when Wigmore CC staged their 42nd annual hill-climb event on Sunday.

There were tricky conditions throughout the event, doubling up as the Kent regional championship, but the wind and rain would not prevent the course records falling on the 1.2-mile Hollingbourne Hill course.

Hayward (Woolwich CC) was the 2016 Champion and defended his title in style, clocking 2:56.5 to become the first rider ever to go under the three-minute mark for the course

The 37-year-old from London claimed victory by 13 seconds and with it the course record bonus on offer from the event sponsors.

Hayward is showing good form in the run up to this month’s national championship, adding this victory to his win on the Pea Royd Lane course at the Stocksbridge CC event a week ago.

Ewan Tuohy (Dartford Road Club) recorded his best ever position in the event with a second-place finish and time of 3:09.5 whilst third went to Christian Turner (PRTZ) in 3:14.5.

In the women’s event, Hamilton-Love also scooped the course record prize when she became the first woman to go sub-four minutes on the QHC11 course.

Hamilton-Love was second only to Alice Lethbridge in this year’s other hill-climb outing a fortnight ago, but got her first 2017 victory in some style.

The Dulwich Paragon rider clocked 3:58 flat, claiming the record and holding a significant winning margin of 36 seconds.

Defending champion Debbie Percival (34 Nomads CC) was pushed down to second this year in 4:34.0 and Victoria Strila (SunSport Velo) was third, eight seconds further back.

Amongst the other winners was Ewan Muir (4T+ Velo Club), he was fastest junior in 3:52.9 and fastest juvenile was Cameron Kemp (Quick Release CC) in 3:54.0.

Meanwhile, Hayward had a double success claiming the team prize, Hugh Smith and Alex Pearson the successful trio in a combined time of 9:54.8.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. James Hayward (Woolwich CC)    2:56.5

2. Ewan Tuohy (Dartford Road Club)            3:09.5

3. Christian Turner (PRTZ)    3:14.5

4. Bill Bell (Bigfoot CC)        3:17.2

5. Calvin Cheung (Hub Velo) 3:24.5

Vet: Bill Bell

Junior: Ewan Muir (4T+ Velo Club)  3:52.9


1. Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon CC)   3:58.0

2. Debbie Percival (34 Nomads CC)  4:34.0

3. Victoria Strila (Sunsport Velo CC) 4:42.3

Vet: Debbie Percival

Junior: Rosie Wallace (Liv AWOL)  5:04.2

Team: Woolwich CC (Hayward, Hugh Smith, Alex Pearson)           9:54.8