cc breckland

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Sep-17
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: B50/18
  • Closing Date: 22-Aug-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Skipper and Bartlett victorious in CC Breckland 50

  • Published: 04 Sep 17
F | T | G+
Joe Skipper.

Despite a rising easterly wind, triathlete Joe Skipper broke the course record for the B50/18 on his way to victory in the CC Breckland 50-mile time trial near Morley, Norfolk, on Saturday.

In training for a triathlon next weekend, Skipper was head and shoulders above other competitors, clocking 1-40-31 and breaking the course record for the event in between running 5km before and 10km afterwards.

Meanwhile, Laura Bartlett (a3crg) was fastest female with 1-53-04, giving her the win in that category by more than three minutes and tenth spot overall.

Skipper’s time gave him the win by some way from runner-up Dave Green (VeloVelocity), while Stephen Williamson (a3crg) was third.

Behind Bartlett in the women’s category, Susan Triplow (Essex Roads CC) was second, while Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Sport) was third.

There were many personal best performances, notably one by tricyclist Ian Pike (Fenland RC) who dropped his bottle and stopped to retrieve it, before continuing on for a finish time of 1-58-55.

Laura Bartlett.

Conditions were good for the event on the A11, but an easterly wind was not the best direction for this course and became more apparent as the race went on.

* Reporting and photos by Fergus Muir.


Provisional Results:

1    Joe Skipper (Team Skipper)    1:40:31

2    Dave Green (VeloVelocity)       1:43:18

3    Stephen Williamson (...a3crg)  1:43:47

4    Gray Turnock (Finsbury Park)  1:46:43   

5    David Shepherd (GS Stella)    1:48:15

Ian Pike.

6    Chris Lea (Buxton CC)               1:50:17

7    Alex Bailey (CC Breckland)       1:52:04

8    Graham Laws (Ipswich BC)       1:52:33

9    Oliver Cozens (Norwich Amateur BC) 1:52:45

10  Laura Bartlett  (...a3crg)               1:53:04           



 1  Laura Bartlett (...a3crg)              1:53:04

2   Sue Triplow (Essex Roads)      1:56:28

3   Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Sport) 1:57:23

James Wood.

4   Becky Murley (Wisbech Whs)  2:01:50

5   Rachel Holman (Tri-Anglia)      2:02:34



1 James Wood (West Suffolk Whs) Hcp 1:20:49, (actual 1:57:39)



1 Ian Pike (Fenland RC)   1:58:55