catford cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Aug-17
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: q25/12
  • Closing Date: 15-Aug-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell and Jenkins winners at Catford CC 25

  • Published: 27 Aug 17
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell.

Chris Fennell (Thanet RC) and Pip Jenkins (Southborough and Dist Wh) were fastest man and woman respectively as Catford CC staged a 25-mile time trial on the Q25/12 near Brenzett in Kent on Sunday.

21-year-old Fennell clocked 49.54 to take the win on the day by 3-24 from older brother Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC), while John Cockrill (Abellio-SFA RT) was third, four minutes slower than Chris Fennell.

That performance broke Fennell’s own course record for the Q25/12 course, and was the first time anyone has gone under the 50-minute mark for that course.

And fastest female with a time of 1-00-57 was Pip Jenkins, another rider in great form with several wins to her name this season.

Among her recent wins are the Gravesend CC 25, Kent CA 10, Sussex CA 50 and Kent CA 50.

“It was a brilliant day, I’m really pleased to go under 50 minutes,” said Thanet-based Fennell.

He has been in blistering form this season, recording 17 victories in open time trials.

He won the Kent CA 50 two weeks ago, while July saw him win the VTTA Kent 10 and 50, the West Kent RC 25 and the San Fairy Ann CC 10. In June he was victorious in the VTTA Kent 25, the Kent CA 100 and the Kent CA 50.

Other wins this season include the Bigfoot CC 25, the De Laune CC 25, the Kent CA 10 and Thanet RC two-up 9.5 as well as the Kent CA 25 in April.

“The course is a bit rough in areas and not great for fast times, so I was really pleased with my ride,” he added. “I’ve stayed local this year which is why I’ve won so many events, but maybe next year I will travel further afield and see what I can do in other areas of the country.”

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name  Club  Cat   Time

1     Christopher Fennell     Thanet RC   Espoir      49:54

2     Nicholas Fennell  Thanet RC   Senior      53:18

3     John Cockrill     Abellio - SFA Racing Team     Senior      53:54

4     Dan Martin  University of Bath Cycling Club     Espoir      54:43

5     Antony Bee  Wigmore CC  Veteran     55:50

6     Lee Buckman Ashford Whs Veteran     56:02

7     Steven Smith      Medway Velo Club  Veteran     56:47

8     Pete Elms Aerosmiths    Veteran     58:38

9     Mark Palmer Thanet RC   Veteran     58:39

10    Shaun Williams    Abellio - SFA Racing Team     Veteran     58:41

11    Paul Smith Aerosmiths    Veteran     58:47

12    Fabien Large      Direct Power Cycling Team     Juvenile    59:05

13    Rob Grunfeld      GS Avanti   Veteran     59:07

14    Allan Ng    Abellio - SFA Racing Team     Veteran     59:12

15    Phillip Knell     Ashford Road CC   Senior      59:34

16    Richard Young     Brighton Triathlon Club Veteran     59:36

17    Matthew Lewis     Ashford Road CC   Senior      59:38

18    Peter Gray  Old Portlians CC  Veteran     59:54

19    Matt Fearn  Sheppey Velo      Senior      1:00:11

20    Danny Frost Folkestone Velo Club    Veteran     1:00:46

21    Tom Morton  PMR @ Toachim House     Veteran     1:00:51

22    Pip Jenkins Southborough & Dist. Whs      Senior      1:00:57

23    Nigel Perry San Fairy Ann CC  Veteran     1:01:03

24=   Paul Fairman      Abellio - SFA Racing Team     Veteran     1:01:11

24=   Andy Robinson     Ashford Whs Veteran     1:01:11

26    Sam Bennett 7 Oaks Tri  Veteran     1:01:21

27    Simon Quested     Folkestone Velo Club    Veteran     1:01:39

28    Laurence Toombs   West Kent RC      Veteran     1:02:44

29    David Dixon Hastings & St. Leonards CC    Veteran     1:02:46

30    Mark Thomas Bigfoot CC  Veteran     1:02:47

31    Mark Bishop GS Avanti   Senior      1:03:16

32    Peter Rowe  Southborough & Dist. Whs      Veteran     1:03:30

33    David Danton      Thanet RC   Veteran     1:03:40

34    Colin Ashcroft    West Kent RC      Veteran     1:03:58

35    Lee Kingston      Medway Velo Club  Veteran     1:04:08

36    Mick Claydon      Ashford Whs Veteran     1:04:20

37    Christopher Bax   PMR @ Toachim House     Veteran     1:04:24

38    Mark Amon   Rye & District Wheelers CC    Veteran     1:04:31

39    Samuel Haymes     Dulwich Paragon CC      Junior      1:04:33

40    Albert Townley    West Kent RC      Senior      1:05:49

41    Robert Sissons    Thanet RC   Veteran     1:06:33

42    Paul Allen  GS Avanti   Veteran     1:06:34

43    Paul Kelk   Thanet RC   Veteran     1:07:04

44    Mick James  PMR @ Toachim House     Veteran     1:07:27

45    Dave Mastin Thanet RC   Veteran     1:09:32

46    Richard Claxton   VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles  Veteran     1:09:35

47    Alec Mayes  Ashford Whs Veteran     1:10:16

48    Emma Juden  San Fairy Ann CC  WVeteran    1:10:24

49    Vernon thomas     VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles  Veteran     1:13:30

50    Hamish Brown      GS Avanti   Veteran     1:19:53

**    Katie Crowe Dulwich Paragon CC      WVeteran    TBA

      Stephen Wilkinson 34 Nomads CC      Veteran     DNF

      Alex Woolley      Sheppey Velo      Veteran     DNF

      Damen Foord Direct Power Cycling Team     Senior      DNF

      Richard Payn      34 Nomads CC      Veteran     DNF

      Michael Ashcroft  West Kent RC      Senior      DNF

      Colin Inett Thanet RC   Veteran     DNF

      Mark Doxey  Abellio - SFA Racing Team     Veteran     DNF

      Adam Bale   Rapha Cycling Club      Senior      DNS

      Leigh Foxton      Rye & District Wheelers CC    Veteran     DNS

      Dawn Bartel Hastings & St. Leonards CC    WVeteran    DNS

      James Ashburnham  Rye & District Wheelers CC    Senior      DNS

      Colin Newton      PMR @ Toachim House     Senior      DNS

      Hugh Pelling      Old Portlians CC  Veteran     DNS

      Sam Glover  7 Oaks Tri  Senior      DNS

      Sam Day     CS Grupetto Veteran     DNS

      Will Newman PMR @ Toachim House     Espoir      DNS

      Karl Ford   Medway Velo Club  Senior      DNS

      Martin Russell    Thanet RC   Veteran     DNS

      Huck Garip  Thanet RC   Veteran     DNS

      Patrick Hawkins   Dulwich Paragon CC      Veteran     DNS

      Steve Gooch Rye & District Wheelers CC    Veteran     DNS

      Michael Bishop    GS Avanti   Senior      DNS