pontypool rcc (men)(welsh championship) (5 events 240 riders max)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Aug-17
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: R10/17
  • Closing Date: 01-Aug-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Davies and Post power to victories in Welsh 10 Championships

  • Published: 13 Aug 17
F | T | G+
Stephanie Post.

Keiron Davies (Drag2Zero) and Stephanie Post (VeloSistas TT Team) retained their national titles in the Pontypool RCC 10 which incorporated the Welsh Championships.

Davies, 30, of St Clears, Carmarthenshire, added the national 10 title to the 25 he won in April clocking a winning time of 19 minutes and nine seconds.

However, his time was slightly slower than the 18.36 he clocked on his way to victory in the same event last year.

Riders competed on the R10/17 course which saw them travel south along the A40 to the outskirts of Abergavenny into a headwind before turning for home just outside Raglan.

George Evans (Team Bottrill/HSS Hire) who finished third in the Welsh 25 earlier in the season went one better over the shorter distance finishing just 10 seconds behind Davies.

Taking third place just a second behind 19-year-old Evans was veteran rider James Rix (Crawley Wheelers).

Kieron Davies.

“My preparation wasn’t great as I was up all night with the family so I didn’t know how I would go in the morning,” said Davies.

“Looking at the weather I didn’t think it was a particularly fast day, it was hard work on the way out and then quick in patches on the way back.

“It has been a long season and I’m glad to keep the national title. I have learnt a lot this season and will be making changes as it’s impossible to hold form all year while working full-time.

“The Welsh Championships are a great event for the Welsh riders to have on the calendar.”

Post who finished second in the Welsh 25 Championships earlier in the season clinched the title on this occasion with a winning time of 22.26.

The VeloSistas TT Team rider also clinched victory in the same event last season, clocking a time of a second slower on that occasion.

Anna Morris (Loughborough Students) took second in 22.34 while Nikki Carr (VC Equipe- Flix Oral Hygiene) finished third in 22.54.

Fastest veteran on standard was Matt Slater (Revo Racing) finishing in 19.27 which was a standard of +6.32.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Keiron Davies (Drag2Zero) 19.09

2 George Evans (Team Bottrill/HSS Hire) 19.19

3 James Rix (Crawley Wheelers) 19.20



1 Stephanie Post (VeloSistas TT Team) 22.26

2 Anna Morris (Loughborough Students) 22.34

3 Nikki Carr (VC Equipe- Flix Oral Hygiene) 22.54


Veteran on standard: Matt Slater (Revo Racing) +6.32