north hampshire rc (50% reserved for women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Aug-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: h25/8
  • Closing Date: 01-Aug-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Maybank and Patience battle against elements for victory in North Hampshire RC 25

  • Published: 13 Aug 17
F | T | G+
Liam Maybank.

Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) and Suzy Patience (Banbury Star CC) battled against windy conditions to record victories in the North Hampshire RC 25.

Maybank, 45 and from Claygate in Surrey, came out on top in a closely fought battle for victory which saw the first four riders finish within 30 seconds of each other.

The H25/8 course saw riders battle against a south westerly wind from near Farnham down the A31 to Alton before turning at Farnham to the finish.

Maybank’s time of 50 minutes and four seconds was enough for victory by five seconds from Rob Sharland (Paceline RT).

Scratch rider Pat Wright (Paceline RT) did enough for third in 50.25, finishing one second ahead of Lewis Keightley (Team Bottrill/HSS Hire).

“I had a pretty good ride in what were horrible conditions,” said Maybank.  “It was quite a bad wind direction for that course and a few people were quite a lot slower than on the same course in June.

“I saw Lewis (Keightley) coming through past the start and could tell he was going pretty close to 30 miles per hour so knew he was going well.”

In the women’s event Patience took a more comfortable victory with a winning time of 1:01.59, over three and a half minutes faster than her closest competitor.

Sophie Slaney (Twickenham CC) took second in 1:05.30 while Rachel Przybylski (Charlotteville CC) finished third with 1:06.58.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) 50.04

2 Rob Sharland (Paceline RT) 50.09

3 Pat Wright (Paceline RT) 50.25

4 Lewis Keightley (Team Bottrill/HSS Hire) 50.26

5 Kevin Tye ( Aerosmiths) 50.54

6 Andrew Meilak ( Aerosmiths) 51.54

7 Charles Mitchell (a3crg) 51.59

8 Adam Bidwell (Kingston Wheelers CC) 52.20

9 Chris Boddy (Didcot Phoenix) 52.45

10 Thomas Whatley (Paceline RT) 53.02



1 Suzy Patience (Banbury Star CC) 1:01.59

2 Sophie Slaney (Twickenham CC) 1:05.30

3 Rachel Przybylski (Charlotteville CC) 1:06.58