sunderland clarion cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Jul-17
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: M254
  • Closing Date: 18-Jul-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Another win for Grieves in Northumberland

  • Published: 30 Jul 17
F | T | G+
Danny Grieves

Danny Grieves claimed victory with a dominant display at the Sunderland Clarion 25 on Sunday morning whilst Gemma Frost topped the women’s standings.

It was a wet and windy start to proceedings on the M254 course on the A696, but as the race got underway the rain stopped and the course began to dry out.

It was the 28-year-old GS Metro rider who was in a class of his own, completing the course in 52.50 to claim a considerable winning margin of over three minutes

The 2016 National 12 Hour Champion from Blyth will defend his title next month, and has had another strong year in 2017, claiming several wins over the shorter distances including the Barnesbury CC 10 earlier in July.

Phil Hall claimed second place for Breeze Bikes RT, his time of 55.53 was also enough to make the 43-year-old the fastest veteran on the day.

Completing the podium was Michael Smart (TS Racing – OTR), whilst fifth place Adam Jarps clocked 57.39 to finish fast

est junior.

It was a much closer outcome in the women’s competition with victory going to Gemma Frost (Muckle Cycling Club).

Frost stopped the clock on 1:00.54, giving her a 14-second margin of victory over Venda Louise Pollock (Breeze Bikes RT).

This was Frost’s second open victory of the month after taking top spot at Blaydon CC’s unconventional 14-mile event a fortnight ago.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Danny Grieves (GS Metro) 52.50

2. Phil Hall (Breeze Bikes RT)           55.53

3. Michael Smart (TS Racing – OTR)            56.37

4. Justin Ramel (Blaydon CC)            57.36

5. Adam Jarps (Manilla Cycling)        57.39

6. Neil Pendrich (Edinburgh RC)       57.41

7. Chris Mather (Derwentside CC)     58.19

=8. Thomas Gilbert (Team Newcastle Triathlon)       58.21

=8. Ross Gray (Prima Team Racing)  58.21

10. Paul Robson (Wearside Triathlon)            58.39

Women: Gemma Frost (Muckle Cycling Club)         1:00.54

Veteran: Phil Hall

Junior: Adam Jarps.