warrington road club (cheshire points series 14 of 20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Jul-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: j2/3
  • Closing Date: 04-Jul-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Crawley and Weaver victorious in Ron Spencer Memorial TT

  • Published: 16 Jul 17
F | T | G+
David Crawley.

David Crawley (Velotik RT) and Anna Weaver (Manchester Tri Club) were fastest man and woman as Warrington Road Club staged the Ron Spencer Memorial over a revised ten-mile course in Cheshire on Saturday.

Moved because of roadworks, a late road closure forced organisers into moving the event to the nearby 10-mile J2/3 course, but it was still a fitting tribute to their former president Ron Spencer, the former National 12-hour champion who passed away in 2011.

Crawley was securing his first open win of the 2017 season, the 41-year-old from Chorlton in Manchester having previously finished second in the Lancashire Road Club 10 in May.

He was defending his title in the Ron Spencer Memorial having won the 2016 event which was held on the usual J2/9 25-mile course.

Anna Weaver.

The 2017 event saw him clock 20.47 to win by 51 seconds from Ben Norbury (Congleton CC), while Steve Hilton (Warrington Road Club) was third, another 15 seconds off the pace.

Fastest female was Anna Weaver of Manchester Tri Club, her time of 24.16 giving her the win by 38 seconds from Claire Harrison (Vision Racing), while Rhianna Parkinson (Salford CC) was third, a couple of minutes off Weaver’s pace.

Weaver has already tasted victory this season, most recently in the Dukinfield CC 50 in May.

Other strong performances included 15-year-old George Elliott (Innovation Racing) with 22-44 to win the juvenile prize, while 16-year-old Jack Smith of the same club clocked 23-52 to take the Under-23 prize.

Veterans categories were split into ten-year age bands and judged on age standard.

Crawley was the fastest 40-49 rider with a plus of 5.17, while Hilton was second in that age group.

The 50-59 age group saw Mostyn Bullock (Buxton CC) take the win with +4.07, while the over-60 veterans prize went to Dave Isherwood (Team Swift) with +4.37.

The day started damp, but cleared up in time for the event, although it was humid and personal bests were few and far between.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. David Crawley (Velotik RT)          20.47

2. Ben Norbury (Congleton CC)        21.38

3. Steve Hilton (Warrington RC)        21.53

=4. John Morgan (Cover Your Car)    21.56

=4. David Williams (Velotik) 21.56

6. Alistair Rutherford (Secret Training CC)   22.07

7. Patrick Gould (Matlock CC)          22.08

8. Mark Pickles (Manchester Wheelers)          22.15

9. Ian Douglas (Newcastle Racing Club)       22.27

10. Robin Brennan (Preston CC)        22.42


1. Anna Weaver (Manchester Tri Club)          24.16

2. Claire Harrison (Vision Racing)      24.54

3. Rhianna Parkinson (Salford CC)    26.21

Juveniles: George Elliott (Innovation Racing)            22.44

Under-23s: Jack Smith (Innovation Racing)  23.52

Veterans 40-49: David Crawley +5.17

Veterans 50-59: Mostyn Bullock (Buxton CC)          +4.07

Veterans over-60: Dave Isherwood (Team Swift)      +4.37