darlington cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Jul-17
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: T254
  • Closing Date: 30-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Turvey powers to victory in the Darlington CC 25

  • Published: 09 Jul 17
F | T | G+
Anna Turvey.

Fastest female by more than six minutes, Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds CC) stormed around the T254 course in North Yorkshire in 54.29 to place third overall.

Turvey’s time was just 2-10 slower than fastest male rider Keith Murray (drag2zero0 who was quick to highlight Turvey’s staggering performance.

“That was an amazing time by Anna, just stunning,” he said afterwards. Murray clocked 52.19 to take the win by 1-14 from Mark Flannery (Team Swift), while Turvey was third.

It was a rare time trial appearance from Turvey, who rode for Ireland at the World Track Championships earlier this year and was the 2016 bronze medallist at the European Track Championships in the individual pursuit.

The course covered two laps of a circuit near Bedale in North Yorkshire which uses quiet roads ideal for a challenging time trial.

Keith Murray.

Turvey was the only woman to go under the hour mark, and beat runner-up in that category Holly Flannery (Team Jadan-Weldtite) by 6-10, with Fiona Sharp (York Cycleworks) another 1-37 back in third in that category.

And while dad Keith celebrated his win, the Murray household was also celebrating a good ride from his son Sam Murray (drag2zero) who was fastest junior rider with 1:01.34.

It was one of a string of victories for Keith Murray who has been in good form this season.

Among his victories so far in 2017 are a string of seven victories in a row in April and May. More recently, he was victorious in the Cestria CC 9-mile TT last month, as well as winning the Barnesbury CC 25.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* Photos from this event are available from mayocreative



1. Keith Murray (drag2zero)   52.19

2. Mark Flannery (Team Swift)          53.33

3. Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)   54.29

4. Richard Sharp (York Cycleworks) 55.23

5. Gray Walker (Richmond CC)         55.52

6. Paul Thirling (Hartlepool CC)56.18

7. Steve Fullerton (Darlington CC)    56.33

8. Dan Evans (Adept Precision RT)   56.35

9. Richard Lilleker (Cleveland Wheelers)       56.57

10. Paul Felce (Adept Precision RT)  57.18


1. Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)   54.29

2. Holly Flannery (Team Jadan-Weldtite)      1:01.10

3. Fiona Sharp (York Cycleworks)     1:02.47

Junior/Juvenile: Sam Murray (drag2zero)       1:01.34