orwell velo

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Jun-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 20 Miles
  • Course: BS33
  • Closing Date: 23-May-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

West and Smith take wins in Orwell Velo TT

  • Published: 04 Jun 17
F | T | G+
Leon West.

Leon West (CC Sudbury) and Verity Smith (Stowmarket and Dist CC) were the fastest male and female riders as Orwell Velo staged the Renny Stirling Memorial 20-mile time trial in Suffolk on Saturday.

West secured his first ever open victory, while Smith lowered her own women’s course record for the BS33 course.

With dry and bright but quite breezy conditions, there were some strong performances throughout the field for the event which uses the BS33 course near Stowmarket, going from Winston to Pettaugh, Ashfield, Occold and Debenham.

A cross wind on the leg-sapping country road from Ashfield to Occold proved the downfall of many PB-seeking riders, with poor road surface over the same stretch not helping either.

Verity Smith.

West’s victory was his first ever after four years in the sport, his time of 45.13 giving him the win by almost a minute from Glenn Taylor (Shorter Rochford), while Paul Rooke (West Suffolk Wheelers) was third, 1-30 behind West.

West’s time was an improvement of 27 seconds on the time he set over the same course when he placed second in the Stowmarket and District CC event on April 1.

Similarly, 41-year-old Smith clocked 50.16 to beat her time from the Stowmarket event in April by 35 seconds and beat her own women’s course record. Her performance on the day gave her the win by more than nine minutes from Amanda Mallett (Plomesgate CC).

“It didn’t feel a fast day, it was horrible!” said Smith afterwards. “It was hard work all the way round. It’s quite a sporting course and you’ll face the wind somewhere unless you’re really lucky.

Martin Pyne.

“There are quite a few holes in the road surface, and it has got worse since April’s event, so I was surprised to lower my record.”

In other categories Martin Pyne (Anglia Velo) – the National 25-Mile Champion in 1981 - was fastest veteran in the 60-69 age category with 52-39.

Other veteran categories saw John Bradbury win the 40-49 category, Angus Jardine win the 50-59 category, and Chris Womack (VC Baracchi) was top over-70 rider.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. Additional reporting and photographs by Fergus Muir.

Verity Smith at the awards ceremony.






1. Leon West (CC Sudbury) 45:13

2. Glenn Taylor (Shorter Rochford)   46:11

3. Paul Rooke (West Suffolk Whs)    46:43

4. John Bradbury (CC Sudbury)         47:24

5. Lee Woodcock (HKR RT) 47:36

6. James Rush (CC Sudbury)  47:50

7. Angus Jardine (Ipswich BC)          47:56

8. Paul Hayward (VC Baracchi)         49:27

9. Julian Bosley (Stowmarket & Dist)            49:52

10. Adrian Manley (Colchester Rovers)         49:55



1  Verity Smith (Stowmarket & Dist) 50:16

2  Amanda Mallett (Plomesgate CC)  59:43

Under 40: Lee Woodcock

Veterans 40-49: John Bradbury

50-59: Angus Jardine

60-69: Martin Pyne (Anglia Velo) 52:39

Over-70s: Chris Womack (VC Baracchi) 52:38