san fairy ann cc (spoco)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-May-17
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: q50/1
  • Closing Date: 02-May-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Price wins over 50 miles

  • Published: 14 May 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Competitors in San Fairy Ann’s 50-mile time trial were greeted with heavy rainfall on the morning of Sunday May 14th, although the unwelcoming conditions were not enough to deter a large number of hardy souls who had travelled from out of county attracted by the lure of the course’s SPOCO status.

The conditions remained harsh for the first hour or so, tempting a number riders to pull out part-way through, citing problems of poor visibility and suffering from rain-induced cold.

However, those who stayed the course were rewarded as the sun gradually eked its way through the clouds and the rain abated.

Never a fast course, riders would normally be considered to do well to beat the two-hour mark; and, sure enough, only three riders achieved this milestone.

However, the race winner, Richard Price (London Phoenix), came home in a stunning time of 1:52.09, which was over four minutes faster than the second-placed rider, Neil Lauder (PMR@Toachim House), who finished in 1:56.19.

Speaking after the win, Price said: “It was nice to get a win, I’ve had a run of seconds recently. The main factor today was the weather, it was horrific!

“It really poured with rain for most of the event so kudos to the marshalls for standing in that! Despite the conditions, it was quite a nice ride. The temperature wasn’t too cold or hot and the road was rolling pretty well.

“I’ve ridden this course a couple of times before but this is my personal best on the course and in by far the worst conditions. The rain was biblical. The worst start to a trial I’ve ever had.”

In third place was Huck Garip (Thanet RC), who achieved a time of 1:59.38, and spearheaded victory for Thanet RC in the team competition.

Meanwhile, John and Kate Bosley made a valiant attempt to win the tandem prize for the Abellio-SFA Racing Team, overcoming mechanical issues early in the race.

However, with the finish almost in sight at the 49-mile mark, they suffered a rear-wheel puncture and were forced to retire.

The women’s prize went to Jane Wiley (7 Oaks Tri) who completed the course in a time of 2:25.52.



1 Richard Price London Phoenix CC 01:52:09

2 Neil Lauder PMR @ Toachim House 01:56:19

3 Huck Garip Thanet RC 01:59:38

4 Nicholas Fennell Thanet RC 02:00:03

5 Iain Boardman Dulwich Paragon CC 02:01:15

6 Simon Henderson Thanet RC 02:02:01

7 lawrence wintergold Hounslow & District Whs 02:03:48

8 Sam Begg 7 Oaks Tri 02:04:08

9 Niall Digby Sigma 02:07:03

10 John-Paul Brophy Eastbourne Rovers CC 02:07:04

11 Mark Emsley Team ASL 02:07:46 (inc 07:20 L/S)

12 Duncan Coulter Rapha Cycling Club 02:09:03

13 rob grunfeld GS Avanti 02:09:33

14 Noah Knock Victoria/ 02:09:51

15 Jeremy Greenwood Finsbury Park CC 02:11:15

16 Ian Braybrook  Basildon CC 02:11:25

17 Andrew Quye Southborough & Dist. Whs 02:13:11

18 John Glaysher  ...a3crg 02:15:16

19 David Greenwood Rye & District Wheelers CC 02:15:54

20 Glenn Karpeta 7 Oaks Tri 02:19:46

21 Stephen Wilkinson 34 Nomads CC 02:19:46

22 Andrew Gibson Gravesend CC 02:20:04

23 Robert Royston Sydenham Whs 02:20:20

24 Mark Amon Rye & District Wheelers CC 02:21:49

25 Colin Doe Ford CC 02:24:27

26 Jane Wiley 7 Oaks Tri 02:25:52

27 Richard Claxton VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles 02:30:01

28 robert sissons Thanet RC 02:32:15

29 Lez Young Lincoln Wheelers CC 02:34:59

30 Robin Johnson Brighton Mitre CC 02:49:22

DNF Neal Watson 7 Oaks Tri

DNF Peter Rowe Southborough & Dist. Whs

DNF Neil Harris PMR @ Toachim House

DNF james bromley Becontree Wheelers CC