team swift (charity event) (w j & overflow & 10 invitation 80 max riders)(entries close 11/08/16)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Aug-16
  • Time: 12:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: v718
  • Closing Date: 11-Aug-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Simmonds breaks records in Team Swift 10

  • Published: 29 Aug 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) clocked 19-18 to set a woman's competition record and helped claim the national team record in the Team Swift 10.

Fresh from her win in the National 10 Championship two weeks ago, the 28-year-old from Cambridge had her eyes on the team record to add to her individual one.

Despite breezy conditions on the fast A63 between South Cave and North Ferriby Simmonds' time was 13 seconds faster than her record set on the same course last month.

She was joined by  AeroCoach team-mates Victoria Smith who clocked 20.36 and Lydia Gurley in 20.50 to accumulate a combined time of one hour and 44 seconds.

This time smashed the previous record of 1:03.25 set by a team of Wendy Houvenaghel, Lesley Walkling and Helen Carter.

Simmonds said: “It was alright but I'm still out to find one of the floating days here when I could clock 18 minutes but I'm getting there. It was a bit breezy and it could have been a bit warmer but I can't complain.”

In the men's event  James Gullen (Pedal Heaven) remarkably equalled the competition record by posting a 17.20.

The fastest men starters were treated to a rain shower just before the turn which could have proved costly in Gullen's record bid.

In the end he matched Alex Dowsett (Movistar) previous record which was set in 2014.

Second on the day but also breaking the 18 minute barrier for the first time was Richard Bussell (AeroCoach) who clocked a 17.49. Rounding off the podium places was Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC) in 18.09.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 James Gullen (Pedal Heaven) 17.20

2 Richard Bussell (AeroCoach) 17.49

3 Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC) 18.09

4 Keith Murray (Drag2Zero) 18.17

5 Jacob Tipper (Pedal Heaven) 18.25

6 Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) 18.35

7 George Evans (Team Bottrill) 18.36

8 Paul Ashley (Fareham Wheelers) 18.40

Women: Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) 19.18