border city wheelers cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Aug-16
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L108
  • Closing Date: 16-Aug-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Murray wins Border City Wheelers 10

  • Published: 28 Aug 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

In-form Keith Murray (drag2zero) powered to victory in the Border City Wheelers 10-mile time trial on the L108 course between Newbiggin on Lune and Tebay in Lancashire.

The 41-year-old from Darlington clocked 20.07 for the event on the A685, winning by 51 seconds defending his win in the 2015 event, while John Morgan (Preston Wheelers) improved on his 2015 time by three seconds and moved up to second place.

Third spot was a tie this time, with Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) and David Turner (Cleveleys RC) both reaching the finish in 21-06, while Birdwell Wheelers’ Dan Taylor rounded off the top five with 21.20.

It was Murray’s second fastest 10-mile time of the season, following the 18.43 he clocked when finishing second in the Bridlington CC 10 on the fast V718 course in East Yorkshire a fortnight earlier.

And he was targeting another quick time the following day (Aug 28) as he was due to ride the Team Swift 10 on the same V718 course.

Sixth place went to 59-year-old Russ Richardson (Teesdale CRC) with 22.24, while the best over-60 veteran was the promoting club’s Mike Westmorland (Border City Wheelers), the 71-year-old clocking 23.28.

Fastest junior rider was Lancashire Road Club’s Will Kerry with 23.53, while Carol Westmorland kept it in the family with a win in the women’s category to add to Mike’s veteran victory, clocking 25.43.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name Club  Club  Cat   Time

1     Keith Murray      DRAG2ZERO   V41   20:07

2     John  Morgan      Preston Whs V40   20:58

 =3   Richard     Bickley     Border City Whs CC      S     21:06

 =3   David Turner      Cleveleys RC      V45   21:06

5     Dan   Taylor      Birdwell Wheelers S     21:20

6     Russ  Richardson  Teesdale CRC      V59   22:24

7     Peter Thomas      Kent Valley RC    S     22:25

8     Ian   Stott Blackburn & District CTC      S     22:26

9     Patrick     Pennefather Velo Club Cumbria S     22:37

10    Dougi Hall  Border City Whs CC      V52   22:43

11    Ian   Sibbert     Garstang CC V47   22:49

12    Alistair    Woodman     Team Swift  V46   22:53

13    Howard      Cain Border City Whs CC      S     22:56

14    James Haddow      Border City Whs CC      S     23:06

15    Mark  Crawley     Ribble Valley CRC S     23:15

16    Phil Shaw  Kent Valley RC    V49   23:19

17    Mike  Westmorland Border City Whs CC      V71   23:28

18    Paul  Targett     Pendle Forest CC  V51   23:34

19    Chris Bateman     Border City Whs CC      S     23:36

20    Duncan      Glover      Harrogate Nova CC V50   23:43

21    John  Edmondson   Beacon Wheelers CC      S     23:48

22    Will  Kerry Lancashire RC     J     23:53

23    Peter Leonard     Southport CC      V64   23:56

24    Kevin Crawley     Border City Whs CC      V54   23:58

25    Martyn      Blenkinship Border City Whs CC      V45   24:20

26    Andrew      Shaddock    Border City Whs CC      V57   24:29

27    Bill  Maxwell     Border City Whs CC      V68   24:34

 =28  Archie      Irving      Beacon Wheelers CC      J     24:35

 =28  Russell     McLean      Beacon Wheelers CC      S     24:35

30    Phil  Hind  Border City Whs CC      V51   25:06

31    Stephen     Spellacy    Dumfries CC V44   25:06

32    Brian Morrell     Dumfries CC V56   25:19

33    Richard     Tyson Rock to Roll CC   V49   25:27

34    Glenn Marland     Dumfries CC V58   25:29

35    David Golden      West Pennine RC   V56   25:31

36    Glenn Bowyer      Lancashire RC     V54   25:38

37    Carol Westmorland Border City Whs CC      LV47  25:43

 =38  Hope  Kerry       Lancashire RC     WS    26:01

 =38  James Skinner     SVTTA V42   26:01

40    Richard     Belk  Kent Valley RC    V65   26:07

41    Keith McMath      Kent Valley RC    S     26:17

42    Sam   Murray      Strategic Lions   J     26:24

43    George      Skinner     VTTA (North)      V70   26:28

44    Chris Irving      Border City Whs CC      V56   26:33

45    Kevin Gibbons     Border City Whs CC      V59   26:36

46    William     Armstrong   Velo Club Cumbria V62   27:16

47    Les   Stephenson  Border City Whs CC      V67   27:20

48    Christopher Beetham     West Yorks Police CC    V55   29:22

49    Neil  Stirling    Kent Valley RC    V76   29:24

50    Alex  Munro Lancashire RC     V83   30:01

51    David Tinker      Clayton Velo      V58   30:50

52    Brian Moore The Tricycle Ass-NWR    V62   31:40

      Campbell    West  Kent Valley RC    S     dnf

      Robert      Gibbons     Hinckley Cycle Racing Club    V43   dns

      Paul  Russell     Springfield Financial   V49   dns

      Alex  Hitchmough  St Helens CRC     V40   dns

      Chris Scaife      Teesdale CRC      V47   dns

      Neil  Withington  Velo Club St Raphael    S     dns

      Chris Highton     Velo Club Cumbria S     dns 

      Gordon      Johnston    Classic Racing Team     V78   dns apol

      Jonathan    Sumner      Springfield Financial   V35   dns apol

      Kenneth     Brown Velo Club Cumbria S     dns apol