eastbourne rovers cc (entries close 28/07/2016)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Aug-16
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: G10/87
  • Closing Date: 28-Jul-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Emsley and Summerford take victory in Stan Nash Memorial TT

  • Published: 07 Aug 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Mark Emsley (Team ASL360) and Ruth Summerford (Velopace) were the fastest man and woman in the Eastbourne Rovers CC Stan Nash Memorial 10-mile time trial in East Sussex on Saturday.

27-year-old Emsley clocked 20.22 to take the win by 1-23 in the men’s race, with Matthew Woods (Eastbourne Rovers CC) second and Steven Kane (Brighton Excelsior CC) third, another four seconds off the pace.

Emsley’s time was 1-51 quicker than his time in the 2015 event and so ensured he received a special award for best improvement while many riders went backwards.

Velopace rider Ruth Summerford, 25, clocked 23.32 to win the women’s category by around a minute and a half from Julia Hawksworth (Southborough and Dist Wh).

Top junior rider was 14-year-old Fabien Large (Hastings and St Leonards CC) who clocked 25.08 for the course from East Hoathly to Boship, while the team prize went to the Eastbourne Rovers CC trio of Matthew Woods, Iain Brogden and Michael Davey, who were just over a minute quicker combined than In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT.

This season has seen Emsley finish third in both the Brighton Excelsior CC 10 and 25 last month, as well as second in the Bec CC 10 back in May, but this is his first open victory so far.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1. Mark Emsley (Team ASL360)        20.22

2. Matthew Woods (Eastbourne Rovers CC) 21.45

3. Steven Kane (Brighton Excelsior CC)        21.49

4. David Pollard (In-Gear Quickvit RT)         21.55

5. Christian Yates (East Grinstead CC)          22.01

6. Mark Bashford (East Grinstead CC)          22.20

7. Matthew Butt (Team ASL360)       22.28

8. Iain Brogden (Eastbourne Rovers CC)       22.30

9. Rupert Robinson (Evans Cycles RT)          22.32

10. Michael Davey (Eastbourne Rovers CC)  22.39

Women: Ruth Summerford (Velopace)           23.32

Best Improvement: Mark Emsley

Juniors: Fabien Large (Hastings and St Leonards CC)          25.08

Over-40s: Iain Brogden

Over-50s: Carl Richardson (In-Gear Quickvit RT)     22.47

Over-60s: David Phillips (Old Portlians CC) 24.15

Over-70s: Alan Robinson (Central Sussex CC)          26.04

Team: Eastbourne Rovers CC (Woods, Brogden, Davey)      1:06.54