alton cycling club (incorporating wessex vtta championship)(40% reserved for women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Jun-16
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: H10/8
  • Closing Date: 14-Jun-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Andy Langdown blazes to win in Alton

  • Published: 26 Jun 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Andy Langdown (Blazing Saddles) beat Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club) by five seconds to win Alton CC’s open ten mile time trial on Saturday.

The Blazing Saddles rider, who is an orthopedic and trauma surgeon, recorded 20.17 on the H10/8 course near Alton in Hampshire, with Cornish clocking 20.22.

It was an improvement in results, if not time, for Langdown, who rode 20 minutes dead for second place in Poole Wheeler’s 10 on the P415 a week earlier.

Third placed rider Eddie Allen (Redmon CC) was over thirty seconds back, stopping the clock at 20.59.

Mandy Hibberd (North Hampshire RC) was fastest lady, riding the course which uses the A31 between Fareham and Alton in 25.30. Vaughan Marris (Fareham Wheelers) was fastest juvenile with 24.17.

Despite getting two riders in the top five, Blazing Saddles missed out on the team prize, with Portsmouth North End CC instead taking the honours. The team was composed of seventh placed rider Dave Dawkins, along with Mark Stafford and Thomas Goodyer.

Repeating a theme for many of Saturday’s time trials, the event was ‘lucky’, according to organiser Paul Jones, and run off in dry conditions, despite very heavy showers in the local area.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Andy Langdown (Blazing Saddles)           20.17

2. Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club)       20.22

3. Eddie Allen (Redmon CC) 20.59

4. Philip Watts (North Hampshire RC)           21.01

5. Tom Lane (Blazing Saddles)          21.11

6. Tim Duncan-Booth (Farnborough & Camberley CC)        21.16

7. Dave Dawkins (Portsmouth North End CC)          21.43

8. Mark Brambleby (Northover VT / Rudy Project)   21.48

9. Jake Prior (Velo Club St Raphael)  21.56

10. Barry Eeles (North Hampshire RC)          22.02

Lady: Mandy Hibberd (North Hampshire RC)          25.30

Juvenile: Vaughan Marris (Fareham Wheelers)          24.17

Team: Portsmouth North End (Dawkins, Mark Stafford, Thomas Goodyer)            1:08.00