glossop kinder velo cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Apr-16
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 25.6 Miles
  • Course: J8/4
  • Closing Date: 05-Apr-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Baldwin takes narrow Glossop win

  • Published: 18 Apr 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Lee Baldwin (Champion System-VCUK) took a narrow victory in Glossop Kinder Velo’s sporting 25.6-mile time trial in Derbyshire on Sunday.

The 34-year-old clocked 1:11.32 to win the event by just eight seconds from Craig Battersby (Team Chronomaster), while Matthew Moorhouse (Preston CC) was the third fastest with 1:11.57 over the J8/4 course near Longnor.

Vanessa Whitfield (The Racing Chance Foundation) was the fastest female with 1:30.36 giving her victory by almost six minutes from Kate Giddings (Liverpool Century RC), while the promoting club’s own Sarah Roberts (Glossop Kinder Velo0 was another 13 minutes back in third.

Manchester BC’s Christian Smith was the pick of the riders wearing non-aero gear with 1:15.53, giving him the win in that category by almost two minutes from Andrew Nulty (Holmfirth CC).

Manchester BC were also victorious in the team category, with Simon Bridge placing fourth, while Christian Smith was tenth and Joseph Dobson 11th.

The course also included a timed climb, and that portion of the event was won by Battersby in 4.20, four seconds ahead of Moorhouse, while Simon Bridge was third with 4.30 and overall winner Baldwin could only manage 4.33 for fourth spot.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Position    First Name  Surname     Club  Category    Time

1     Lee   Baldwin     Champion System/VCUK    S     1:11.32    

2     Craig Battersby   Team Chronomaster V40   1:11.40    

3     Matthew     Moorhouse   Preston CC  V40   1:11.57    

4     Simon Bridge      Manchester Bicycle Club V40   1:12.13    

5     Ben   Norbury     Congleton CC      S     1:14.07    

6     Joe   Le Sage     Rutland CC  V40   1:15.09    

7     Sam   Clark Buxton CC   S     1:15.12    

8     Andrew      Newby Langsett Cycles RT      S     1:15.24    

9     Paul  Robinson    Lyme Racing Club  V50   1:15.47    

10    Christian   Smith Manchester Bicycle Club S     1:15.53    

11    Joseph      Dobson      Manchester Bicycle Club S     1:16.44

12    Andrew      Nulty Holmfirth CC      S     1:17.42    

13    William     Neill Leek Cyclists Club      S     1:18.56    

14    Mark  Brearton    The Endurance Store     V40   1:19.07    

15    Chris Edmundson   Fibrax-Wrexham RC S     1:19.10    

16    Stephen     Hall  Wrexham Road Club S     1:19.27    

17    Tony  Grassby     Peak Road Club    V40   1:20.28    

18    Peter Haigh Glossop Kinder Velo     S     1:21.20    

19    Arne  Beswick     Buxton CC   S     1:21.33    

20    Graham      Yardley     Central Lancs Road Club S     1:22.02

21    Peter Laud  Common Lane Occasionals V40   1:22.05    

22    Trevor      Mayne Birdwell Wheelers V50   1:23.03    

23    Simon Holmes      Rutland CC  V40   1:23.42    

24    James Gough Barnsley RC V40   1:24.19    

25    Chris Wilcox      Lyme Racing Club  V50   1:24.47    

26    David Cookson     Preston CC  S     1:24.48    

27    James Roberts     Chester RC  V50   1:24.53    

28    Philip      Knupfer     Manchester Bicycle Club S     1:25.04

29    Chris Reynolds    Liverpool Century RC    S     1:25.39    

30    Jason McDonald    Bury Clarion CC   V40   1:25.58    

31    Chris Lunt  Chorlton Velo     S     1:26.16    

32    Garreth     Bruff Barnsley RC V40   1:26.29    

33    James Russell     Macclesfield Wheelers   V50   1:27.46    

34    Mike  Jones Congleton CC      V40   1:28.27    

35    David Neill Leek Cyclists Club      V60   1:28.38    

36    David Shirley     Glossop Kinder Velo     V40   1:28.54    

37    Wayne Gregory     Barnsley RC V40   1:29.55    

38    Martin      Harney      Manchester Bicycle Club V50   1:30.08

39    Vanessa     Whitfield   The Racing Chance Foundation  W     1:30.36

40    Jason Dobson      Manchester Wheelers     V40   1:30.36    

41    Andrew      Grace Crewe Clarion Wheelers  V60   1:31.25    

42    John  Bennett     Barnsley RC V40   1:32.03    

43    Lukas Hodgson     Manchester Wheelers     S     1:33.02    

44    Joe   Whiteley    Glossop Kinder Velo     V40   1:34.03    

45    Dan   Robinson    Manchester Wheelers     S     1:34.17    

46    Nigel Harrop      Seamons CC  V60   1:34.51    

47    Rod   Brooks      Warrington Road Club    V70   1:35.18    

48    Robert      Barnard     Team Cystic Fibrosis    V40   1:36.03    

49    Kate  Giddings    Liverpool Century RC    W     1:36.22    

50    Mike  Cleary      Manchester Bicycle Club V40   1:37.32    

51    Matthew     Riddiough Boylan  Glossop Kinder Velo     S     1:39.34

52    Chris Hanson-Jones      Frodsham Wheelers V40   1:41.16    

53    Franck      Turmel Josek      Manchester Tri Club     V40   1:41.44

54    Stephen     Brundrett   Glossop Kinder Velo     V40   1:44.16    

55    Charlie     Shepley     Glossop Kinder Velo     S     1:46.27    

56    Anthony     Doyle Glossop Kinder Velo     V40   1:49.02    

57    Carl  Moriarty    Glossop Kinder Velo     V50   1:49.07    

58    Sarah Roberts     Glossop Kinder Velo     W     1:49.15    

59    Holly Carter      Manchester Wheelers     W     1:49.20    

60    Steven      Lacey Barnsley RC V40   02:02.37   

61    Rob   Waghorn     Congleton CC      V70   02:32.39   

      Faith Roberts     The Racing Chance Foundation  W     DNF  

      John  Catley      Barnsley RC V40   DNF  

      Richard     Bassett     Manchester Wheelers     S     DNS  

      James Murphy      Frodsham Wheelers V40   DNS  

      Tom   Whalley     CC London   S     DNS  

      David Hole  Seamons CC  V50   DNS(A)     

      Darren      O'Toole     High Peak Cycles RT     V40   DNS(A)     

      Rupert      Pearson     Rutland CC  V40   DNS(A)     

      Steffan     North Wills Wheels CC   S     DNS(A)     

      David Crawley     Velotik Racing Team     V40   DNS(A)