

Gillingham & Dist Whs (WTTA Hardriders)(60 rider max)

18.4 mile 'Hilly' Bruton - Zeals - Kilmington - Bruton course.

16/03/2024 14:00

U303

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations.



Headquarters

HQ this year is at the Bruton Community Hall, Silver Street, Bruton,

BA10 0EB (W3W ///freshest.bugs.conceals)

Parking is either in Godminster Car park (W3W ///farmland.voice.flattery) or at the side of the road in the adjacent streets/roads.

The HQ is **NOT** at the Unionist Club in Quaperlake Street.

Route from HQ to start

Turn left from the HQ for approx 50 yds (walking) onto the B3081 to start.

Course details

Start Bruton on B3081 (Wincanton road) at point level with industrial estate entrance (O/S grid ref. ST68 63 47). riders have priority at traffic calming measure under the bridge immediately after the start. proceed on B3081 to Stoney Stoke (2.5 miles – observer). turn left through Charlton Musgrove to give way sign at Leigh common (5.1 miles – observer). turn left onto old A303 (caution: traffic). Continue through Bourton and Zeals (caution: obey all traffic calming measures) to give way junction with B3092 (observer). Turn left onto B3092 (caution: traffic) towards frome for approx. 1.25 miles, then turn left to Kilmington Common (observer – rough road surface on turn). Proceed across Kilmington Common (caution: short stretch of narrow road and rough road surface under trees) to Yarnfield Gate, then turn sharp left (observer – caution – rough road surface on turn) approx. 13 miles. continue downhill (caution: steep – take care) through North Brewham to finish by double gates of electric substation approx. 200 yards short of junction with A359 in Bruton. After the finish proceed to the HQ, taking care not to disrupt traffic in the vicinity.

Local regulations

All riders MUST wear a hard shell helmet AND MUST have a working front and rear light fitted to your bike in a position which is visible to other road users and is active whilst the bike is in use.

Competitors must sign on before the start and allow enough time to get from the HQ to the start. Please do not warm up on the course. No U-turns in the vicinity of the start or finish. Please be respectful to other road users during the event. Under no circumstances should a rider be followed or lead by an accompanying vehicle. This includes driving past, parking and then driving past again.

CTT guidance reminds us that riders should not exceed speed restrictions. This is part of riding and racing safely. Riders in West District must not exceed speed restrictions and should not over take other road users unless it is safe to do so. An example would be overtaking a slow moving vehicle such as a tractor, where the road is wide enough.

Riders are expected to have read the course risk assessment (https://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk/course-details/u303 and familiarise themselves with the course.

Organiser contact details

John Phillips 2 Milestone Way Gillingham 07759585590

milestone1984@outlook.com

Time keepers/officials

Andy Greatwood and Dennis Davis

Course records

Not Known

Awards/prizes

The prize structure takes into account the new distinction between Road and TT bikes and best reflects the number of entries in each category:

(One prize from above per rider maximum excluding team prize. Standard times as defined by VTTA.)

Road Bikes

Veterans - 1st £15, 2nd £10 & 3rd £7

TT Bikes

Veterans 1st £15, 2nd £10 & 3rd £7

Overall (irrespective of bike type)

Female: 1st £15, 2nd £10

Senior & Espoir: 1st £15, 2nd £10

Veterans on Standard: 1st £15, 2nd £10

1st Team: £15 (teams to consist of three riders, £5 per rider)

1st Gillingham Wheeler: Wheels Cycles voucher

2nd Gillingham Wheeler: The Old Brewery Cafe & Kitchen voucher

NOTES TO COMPETITORS:

17. Signing-on Sheet and Signing-out Sheet

- (a) The competitors in all types of events must make themselves aware of any special safety instructions for the event and sign the official signing-on sheet when collecting their number.
- (b) In Type A events a competitor must return to the event HQ either during the event or within a reasonable time after the last rider has finished the event and must (i) return their race number(s); and (ii) sign the official signing-out sheet. A rider who fails to so sign the official signing-out sheet shall be recorded as DNF.

This event may be subject to a Doping Control As soon as you have finished you should return to the event HQ as it is your responsibility to check if you are required for Doping Control. Race numbers required for Doping Control will be displayed at the HQ adjacent to the result board. If your number is displayed you should report immediately to Doping Control which will be nearby. Remember, it is up to you to check and ensure that you comply. If required you must report to Doping Control after finishing without delay.

Startsheet

Gillingham & Dist Whs (WTTA Hardriders)(60 rider max)

Start Number	Start Time	Rider	Club	Gender	Category
1	14:01:00	Mark Harvey	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
2	14:02:00	Mike Anderson	CC Moncontour	Open	Vet
3	14:03:00	Gordon Scott	CC Weymouth	Open	Vet
4	14:04:00	Nigel Brown	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
5	14:05:00	Dylan Griffiths	University of Bath Cycling Club	Open	Espoir
6	14:06:00	Haydn Davies	Giant CC Halo Films	Open	Vet
7	14:07:00	Keith Penny	Pronto Bikes	Open	Vet
8	14:08:00	Marianne Carpenter	Bath Cycling Club	Female	Vet
9	14:09:00	Irina Holland	Yeovil Cycling Club	Female	Vet
10	14:10:00	Robert Francis	Team Bottrill	Open	Senior
11	14:11:00	Paul Winchcombe	Chippenham & District Wheelers	Open	Vet
12	14:12:00	Chris Giles	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
13	14:13:00	Andrew Alcorn	Bath Cycling Club	Open	Vet
14	14:14:00	Anthony Sprules	Pronto Bikes	Open	Vet
15	14:15:00	Tom Clements	Poole Wheelers Cycling Club	Open	Vet
16	14:16:00	Andrew Metherell	Velo Club Bristol	Open	Vet
17	14:17:00	Chris Lowe	Swindon Road Club	Open	Vet
18	14:18:00	Leslie Thomas	Yeovil Cycling Club	Open	Vet
19	14:19:00	Chris Cook	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
20	14:20:00	Ben Warman	Yeovil Cycling Club	Open	Vet
21	14:21:00	Richard Llewellyn	Imperial Racing Team	Open	Vet
22	14:22:00	Shawn Gray	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
23	14:23:00	Andy Parsons	Yeovil Cycling Club	Open	Vet
24	14:24:00	Gary Francis	Wincanton Wheelers	Open	Vet
25	14:25:00	George Smith	Pronto Bikes	Open	Senior
26	14:26:00	Corinne Clark	360VRT	Female	Senior
27	14:27:00	Stuart Thompson	Velo Club St Raphael	Open	Vet

Start Number	Start Time	Rider	Club	Gender	Category
28	14:28:00	Oliver Hugh-Jones	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
29	14:29:00	Oscar Hutchings	Team Tor 2000 KALAS	Open	Senior
30	14:30:00	Sam Thompson	Podium Addict	Open	Vet
31	14:31:00	Matthew Chapple	Chippenham & District Wheelers	Open	Senior
32	14:32:00	Adrian Riddleston	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
33	14:33:00	Joanna Legge- Knight	Bristol South Cycling Club	Female	Vet
34	14:34:00	Karl Norris	360VRT	Open	Vet
35	14:35:00	Daniel Kempe	Bristol South Cycling Club	Open	Vet
36	14:36:00	Edward Hunt	Gillingham and District Wheelers / Wheels Cycles	Open	Vet
37	14:37:00	Paul Wilkinson	Pronto Bikes	Open	Vet
38	14:38:00	Gary Fouracres	Yeovil Cycling Club	Open	Vet
39	14:39:00	Jake Sargent	Team Bottrill	Open	Senior
40	14:40:00	Tom Bertenshaw	Bath Cycling Club	Open	Vet
41	14:41:00	Tom Burke-Nott	Bristol South Cycling Club	Open	Vet
45	14:45:00	Withdrawn Withdrawn	Bruton Cycling Club	Open	Senior