

Beachy Head Cycling Club present 2022 Butts Lane Hill Climb 2pm Saturday 15th October

Results Sheets

In damp and drizzly conditions 32 out of the registered 40 riders took on the challenge of the fearsome Butts Lane Hillclimb - just over a kilometre of pain. Overall winner was Alexander Cornwell of Parlay CC on his second visit to the hill with a time of 3 minutes 55.52 seconds beating fastest veteran Richard Cartland of HuntBikeWheels.com by .72 of a second. Third place overall went to the very impressive junior champion Ben Neal of LVC Racing in a very impressive 4 minutes and 1 second. The battle for fourth was very close with two time National Women's Champion Bithja Jones of Pankhurst Cycles edging out Michael Sleeman by 0.57 seconds. Second in the Women's standing was Harriet Hernando of Maidenhead & Distict CC with Nikki Ray of Brixton Cycles in third. The fast strting Harry Woodhouse took the Juvenile prize with Hastings & St Leonards CC taking the team prize.

Overall		Women		
1. Alexander Cornwell - Parlay CC	3:55.52	 Bithja Jones - Pankhurst Cycles 	4:06.17	
2. Richard Cartland - HuntBikeWheels	3:56.24	2. Harriet Hernando - Maidenhead & Dist.	5:13.74	
3. Ben Neal - LVC Racing	4:01.48	3. Nikki Ray - Brixton Cycles	5:32.56	
Fastest Juvenile - Harry Woodhouse Fastest Junior - Ben Neal	5:09.52	Fastest Team - Hastings & St Leonards CC (Owen Vidler, Samuel Benge, Michael Max		
Fastest Veteran - Richard Cartland				

Firle and Butts Lane Combined Champions: Alexander Cornwell, Nikki Ray (W) and Ben Neal (Junior/Juvenial)

Course details

Course: GH/96. START in Butts Lane, 4 metres in from white line and in line with double yellow no park- ing line. Climb Butts Lane to FINISH just before entrance to car park on RIGHT at end of metalled road -Distance: 1.18km -Grade: Max 14.2 Avg. 10.3 % -Ascent: 116 metres Butts Lane is a challenging, medium distance climb and is now in it's sixth edition.

Course records: Fastest male: Andrew Feather of HuntBikeWheels.com 3'18"

Fastest Female: Bithja Jones of Pankhurst Cycles CC 4'06"

Peter Watts, Time Trial Secretary, Beachy Head Cycling Club. Flat 3, 17 St Anne's Road Eastbourne BN21 2AJ peter.watts@beachyheadcc.com Mobile Number 07789400971 https://www.beachyheadcc.com

.Time keepers/officials: Richard Meed & Peter Moon

Event HQ: The Wheatsheaf Inn, 2 Church St, Willingdon, Eastbourne BN20 9HP https://www.thewheatsheafinnwillingdon.co.uk

