Mid Shropshire Wheelers



Open 50 Mile Time Trial - Sunday 15th May 2022

Incorporating the SB Sports Injuries Shropshire 50 mile Championship and Round 6 of the SCCA Friction & Hydraulics Points Series

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its Rules & Regulations

Course: D50/4 **Start Time:** 07:00

Timekeepers: Dave York (start), Jenny York (finish)

Event secretary: Simon Evans, 44 Bromley Road, Shrewsbury SY3 5AZ

Tel: 01743 353671 email: ruralwales@gmail.com

Headquarters: Tilstock Village Hall, Tilstock, SY13 3JL, 2.5 miles S of Whitchurch. Open from 6am. Additional parking is available on the hard standing at Prees Heath island, post code SY13 3JT, 0.9 miles from the HQ and beside the course.

COMPETITOR'S NOTES

CTT Regulation 17d - each competitor must sign on when collecting <u>and returning</u> their race numbers at the HQ. Any rider not signing off within a reasonable time of the finish of the event will be recorded as DNF.

Riders are required to wear **arm numbers** on the left upper arm during this event in addition to the large number on the lower back. They must be worn at the start of the event so as to be clearly visible to event officials and marshals. Riders should make every effort to continue to wear and display them correctly throughout the event. Any rider whose number is not visible to the timekeeper and checkers may not be given a finishing time. Make sure you shout your number at the finish, otherwise your time may not be recorded.

Distance from HQ to start is 3.8 miles so allow adequate time. Please use extreme caution riding on the A49 - you are on the course so please ride in single file. Due to increased traffic levels at Prees Island riders are reminded to use caution when entering the roundabout. Any rider observed riding in an unsafe manner or disregarding the Highway Code may face disciplinary action.

CTT Regulations 14(i), 14(j), 15: COMPULSORY LIGHTS & HELMETS

No competitor will be allowed to start without a working white front light and red rear light, either flashing or constant, and fitted to their machine in a position clearly visible to other road users. All competitors must wear a properly affixed helmet which must be of hard/soft shell construction.

No lights or no helmet = no ride. This is non-negotiable.

CTT Regulations 19a: Competitors must not use ANY audio equipment except prescribed hearing aids. A competitor in breach of this regulation will be disqualified. Competitors must not use a mobile phone while mounted on their machine.

Liverpool District Local Regulation: Riders must not make 'U' turns within sight of start and finish. Any rider observed making a 'U' turn in contravention of this regulation could be disqualified from the event. Any rider who makes repeated 'U' turns may be subject to disciplinary action.

COVID-19 SAFETY

Please adhere to the latest Government guidelines including social distancing requirements at all times. Do not attend if you feel ill in any way or if a family member has any symptoms.

Please arrive at the start no more than 3 minutes before your start time and keep at least one bike length away from the rider in front. There will be no pusher-off at the start so all riders must start with one foot on the ground.

Riders' finish times will not be available at the event but will be published online via the CTT and SCCA websites as soon as possible. The HQ will be open for signing on and off and collecting and returning your race numbers only. Toilets are available at HQ but only for one person at a time and are not to be used as a changing facility.

D50/4 COURSE DESCRIPTION

Start on the A49 (Prees bypass) at the northern bridge line.	
Proceed north on the A49 to Prees Heath roundabout	2.75miles
Take the second exit to continue on the A49 keeping left to cross	
Whitchurch roundabout to reach Wem Road roundabout.	4.40 miles
Take the first exit on to the B5476 to Quina Brook	9.54 miles
Turn left onto Aldersey Lane and follow to junction with the A49	11.75 miles
Turn left onto the A49 to pass the start	12.62 miles
Repeat circuit	
Repeat circuit	
Repeat circuit until joining the A49	49.65 miles
Continue on the A49 to finish at the drain cover level with the 8th	
broken white line at the southern entrance to Prees village	50.10 miles

AWARDS - SOLO

Fastest Rider to hold the Curly Downs Trophy for one year

(to be awarded in February 2023)

	Men	Women	Vet + on Std
1 st	£30	£30	£30
2 nd	£20	£20	£20
3 rd	£15		

One Prize per Rider

AWARDS (SCCA Riders Only)

Fastest overall £15, Fastest female £15, Best Vet on Standard £15, Fastest Junior £15

RIDER LIST

TANDEM

No.	Name	Club	Start Time	Category
6	Chris Hanson-Jones	Frodsham Wheelers	07:06	MV
6	Brigid Night	Frodsham Wheelers	07:06	FV

SOLOS

No.	Name	Club	Start ime	Category	Vet td
9	Geraint Catherall	Anfield BC	07:09	MV	2:17:46
10	Jonathan Mills-Keeling	Bridgnorth Cycling Club	07:10	MV	2:18:13
11	David Wright	Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering	07:11	MV	2:26:20
12	Jamie Pleavin	Liverpool Century RC	07:12	MV	2:19:09
13	Steve Cornish	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	07:13	MV	2:28:44
14	Robert Elliott	Wrekinsport CC	07:14	MV	2:33:33
15	Jason Walkley	Royal Air Force Cycling Association	07:15	MV	2:14:56

16	Liam Ferris	Port Sunlight Wheelers	07:16	MV	2:20:08
17	Emma Serjeant	Hafren CC	07:17	FV	2:28:04
18	Helen Tudor	Oswestry Paragon CC	07:18	FV	2:33:28
19	Claire Calladine	Derby Triathlon Club	07:19	FV	2:29:51
20	Tim Beardmore	Bridgnorth Cycling Club	07:20	MV	2:18:40
21	Oscar Sinfield	Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)	07:21	М	
22	Rob Kerr	Oswestry Paragon CC	07:22	MV	2:15:43
23	Jim Henderson	Southport CC	07:23	MV	2:18:13
24	Bethan Till	Wrekinsport CC	07:24	F	
25	Alan Broadbent	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:25	MV	2:17:46
26	Graeme Donnell	Revolutions Racing	07:26	MV	2:21:45
27	Deb Hutson-Lumb	Wrekinsport CC	07:27	FV	2:35:56
28	Ben Beachell	Rhos-on-Sea CC	07:28	MV	2:19:38
29	Victoria Doran	Wrekinsport CC	07:29	FV	2:28:04
30	Mason Durant	Paramount CRT	07:30	М	
31	Steve Lee	Team Wheelguru	07:31	MV	2:18:40
32	Jonathan Weavell	Stafford Triathlon Club	07:32	MV	2:17:46
33	Nigel Smith	Chester Triathlon Club	07:33	MV	2:17:20
34	Jasmine Baker	Mersey Tri	07:34	F	
35	Philip Knupfer	Manchester Bicycle Club	07:35	MV	2:15:43
36	Philip Roberts	Wrekinsport CC	07:36	М	
37	Ian Casson	Birkenhead Victoria CC	07:37	MV	2:31:30
38	Lauren Turley	Nova Raiders CC	07:38	F	
39	Emma Tilston	Chester RC	07:39	FV	2:34:39
40	Victor Chetta	Pirate juice cc	07:40	MV	2:16:06
41	Bryn Davies	Hafren CC	07:41	MV	2:17:46
42	Richard Gadsden	Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club	07:42	М	
43	Paul Williams	North Endurance	07:43	MV	2:14:34
44	John Westhead	Paramount CRT	07:44	MV	2:27:54
45	Andrew Askwith	Vive Le Velo	07:45	MV	2:22:20
46	Colin Hayes	Liverpool Century RC	07:46	MV	2:20:08
47	Christopher Riley	Paramount CRT	07:47	MV	2:20:08
48	Les Boughey	North Shropshire Wheelers	07:48	MV	2:23:34
49	Hannah Fawcett	Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club	07:49	FV	2:28:04
50	Toby Williams	Velotik Racing Team	07:50	М	
51	Tomos Hales	Wrekinsport CC	07:51	М	
52	Ian Dickens	TricentralUk	07:52	MV	2:18:40
53	Allan Henderson	Wrekinsport CC	07:53	М	
54	Richard Chambers	North Wirral Velo	07:54	М	
55	Paul Blackburn	Coveryourcar.co.uk RT - Fitted and Tailored Car Covers	07:55	MV	2:15:19
56	James Meldrum	Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)	07:56	MV	2:15:19
57	Will Turton	Mersey Tri	07:57	MV	2:16:06
58	Adam Mumford	Wrekinsport CC	07:58	М	
59	Robert Ian Griffiths	Graham Weigh Racing-Deeside Olympic	07:59	MV	2:24:13
60	Simon Smart	DRAG2ZERO	08:00	MV	2:20:08
- 00	JIIIOH JIIIAH	DIAGZZLINO	00.00	IVI V	2.20.00