

De Laune CC presents 50th Annual Fred Peachey Memorial 25 Mile Time Trial

To be held on Sunday 19th May, 2019 at 7.31 am on Course Q25/8 (Chilham)
Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under it's Rules and Regulations
Event HQ – Challock Memorial Hall, Blind Lane, Challock Lees, Ashford, Kent
ECCA BAR counting event

Awards

1 st Fastest on Scratch 2 nd on Scratch	£50 £40	1 st Vet on Std 2 nd Vet on Std	£30 £20	1 st Lady £25 2 nd Lady	£15
					Z I O
3 rd on Scratch	£30	3 rd Vet on Std	£15	1 st Junior £20	
4 th on Scratch	£20				

1st Team of 3 riders on scratch £10.00 each

Fred Peachey Memorial Trophy, to be awarded to the fastest rider on Scratch. Johnson Cup, a perpetual cup to be awarded to the fastest Junior rider.

Event Secretary

Tony Peachey
63 Beverley Road,
Barming,
Maidstone, Kent
ME16 9DU
01622 727649
tony.peachey36@gmail.com

Timekeepers

Start – Bill Wright (De Laune CC)
Finish – Paul Mepham (VC Elan – Harry Perry Cycles)
John Clegg (VC Elan – Harry Perry Cycles)

Thank you for entering this event. It is run each year as a memorial to Fred Peachey, my father.

Fred joined the "Gentlemen of the De Laune" in 1952 and worked tirelessly for the Club and our sport in general, until his sudden death in February 1969. Fred served on the De Laune committee undertaking various posts as well as representing the club on the then RTTC London South committee, the BCF South East division, the RRA, the Southern RRA and the SCCU. Fred also found time to support all De Laune riders in every aspect of the sport – it didn't matter to him what type of cycling activity club members participated in, so long as it involved two (or three!) wheels. He promoted this open 25 for many years and, as a mark of respect and to honour his memory, club members provided the perpetual trophy that is on offer today to the fastest rider on scratch.

Tony Peachey – Event Secretary

Course Details

Challock - Canterbury - Ashford - Chilham

Start on A.252 east of Molash at corner post of Northdown House at entrance to Shottenden Lane. (TR 032522). Proceed east on A.252 and A.28 to Milton Manor RAB Thanington (6.726 miles). (M) Turn and retrace on A.28 via Chilham fork where bear left (EXTREME CARE) (M) to Spearpoint Corner RAB (17.126 miles). (M) Retrace to Chilham fork where left (M) to rejoin A.252. Proceed westwards to finish approx 290 yards past Chilham Castle Keep entrance (TQ 063535).

No parking within sight of start and finish timekeepers. Anyone proven to be associated with any car parking or turning in the vicinity of the start will be disqualifed from the event. Riders should allow 10 minutes to ride to the start.

For events starting in the morning no rider to use a turbo trainer or rollers in the HQ parking area or adjacent roads that are within 50 metres of a domestic property. Anyone failing to comply with this restriction risks disqualification.

Numbers will be available in the HQ from 630 am – please sign on before taking your number and remember to return to the hall to sign off before going home, failure to do so will result in you being classed as a DNF. Tea, coffee and cakes will be available at the HQ upon your return.

Please keep noise to a minimum around the hall – it is Sunday and the local residents may not want to be up as early as you. Remember to remove your cycling shoes before entering the hall.

Rider feedback forms will be available at the HQ by the signing on area. Marshals and riders are encouraged to submit their comments accordingly, with regard to improving the safety of the course. Please hand them to the promoter or any member of the De Laune CC at the event.

In the interests of your safety Cycling Time Trials and the event promoters strongly advise you to wear a hard shell helmet that meets an internationally accepted safety standard. In accordance with Regulations ALL riders under the age of 18 MUST wear a recognised protective hard shell helmet.

It is recommended that a working front and rear light, either flashing or constant, is fitted to your machine in a position visible to other road users, ensure that it is active whilst the machine is in use.

Riders should be aware of Regulation 16 which states 'the number should be centrally positioned below the waist so as to be clearly visible from the rear when in the normal riding position'. A missed number by the timekeepers could result in a missed time for you.

Please remember to keep your head up at all times and enjoy your ride.

My thanks to the following individuals for their assistance in this promotion namely:

Paul Mepham (VC Elan)	Finish Timekeeper
John Clegg (VC Elan)	Recorder
Bill Wright	Start Timekeeper
Malc Adams	Signing on
Mike Peel	Pusher off
Ann & Mike Hartley	Result Board
Lyn Adams, Pat Brown	Tea Bar
John Kavanagh, Brian Saxton, Brian Shambrook	Canterbury turn RAB
Alan Constable, Alan Rowe, Nigel Scales	Chilham Fork
Len Brown, Roy Savery,	Ashford Spearpoint Corner RAB

Order of start

No	Name	Club	Cat	Vets Std	Start
1	Steve Carter-Smith	De Laune	V	1.11.05	7:31
2	Charmaine Pullen	Folkestone Velo Club	L/V	1.13.38	7.32
3	Joe Austin	Sheppey Velo			7.33
4	Mike Perry	Thanet RC	V	1.15.46	7.34
5	Fabien Large	NOPINZ	J		7.35
6	Mike Ashcroft	West Kent RC			7.36
7	David Milne	Bigfoot CC	V	1.6.27	7.37
8	Neal Watson	70aks Tri Club	V	1.8.15	7.38
9	Paul Simon Griffiths	Thanet RC	V	1.6.52	7.39
10	Dave Stocker	Abellio SFA RT	V	1.8.51	7.40
11	Keith Brown	Southboro & Dist Whs	V	1.7.28	7.41
12	Colin Ashcroft	West Kent RC	V	1.9.16	7.42
13	No Rider				7.43
14	Mark Amon	Rye & Dist Whs	V	1.8.51	7.44
15	Nick Wilson	Rye & Dist Whs	V	1.9.03	7.45
16	Danny Frost	Folkestone Velo Club	V	1.9.03	7.46
17	Barry Goodsell	Rye & Dist Whs	V	1.8.51	7.47
18	Matt Clark	Ashford Wheelers	V	1.6.40	7.48
19	Rebecca Wilson	Rye & Dist Whs	L/V	1.14.44	7.49
20	Tim Kingston	GS Invicta	V	1.6.52	7.50
21	Sam Dorkings	GS Avanti			7.51
22	Nick Elson	Wildcats CC			7.52
23	Carl Chapman	GS Invicta	V	1.7.40	7.53
24	Susan Walbrook	Folkestone Velo Club	L/V	1.12.46	7.54
25	Paul Smith	VeloRefined Aerosmiths	V	1.7.28	7.55
26	Rob Milnes	Thanet RC			7.56
27	Jimmy George	VO2 Max			7.57
28	Chris Bax	PMR	V	1.12.27	7.58
29	Matt Nunn	Medway Velo Club			7.59
30	Mark Hill	VeloRefined Aerosmiths	V	1.8.15	8.00
31	Simon Henderson	Thanet RC	V	1.9.16	8.01
32	Sam Bennett	70aks Tri Club	V	1.7.16	8.02
33	Paul Morrison	Greenwich Tri Club	V	1.6.40	8.03
34	David Mackey	Medway Velo Club	V	1.7.40	8.04
35	Antony Bee	Wigmore CC	V	1.9.03	8.05
36	Steve Gooch	Rye & Dist Whs	V	1.8.38	8.06
37	Andy Macpherson	VC Deal	V	1.8.26	8.07
38	David Earl	TrainSharp	V	1.8.15	8.08
39	Tracy Wilson-Begg	Folkestone Velo Club	L/V	1.14.17	8.09
40	Mark Newton	Elite Cycling	V	1.8.26	8.10

41	Mark Doxey	Abellio SFA RT	V	1.8.03	8.11
42	Lee Kingston	Medway Velo Club	V	1.6.52	8.12
43	Marek Sasura	GS Avanti	V	1.6.40	8.13
44	Andy Burrows	Thanet RC	V	1.17.01	8.14
45	Emma Lewis	The Independent Pedaler	L		8.15
46	Alex Pearson	Wildcats CC	V	1.6.40	8.16
47	Matthew Hall	Thanet RC			8.17
48	Jamie Beecham	VC Elan Harry Perry Cycles	V	1.6.00	8.18
49	Paul Kirkness	Thanet RC	V	1.11.44	8.19
50	Andy Meilak	VeloRefined	V	1.8.26	8.20
51	Tom Hilder	TrainSharp			8.21
52	Colin Newton	Folkestone Velo Club			8.22
53	Dave Greenwood	Rye & Dist Whs	V	1.8.51	8.23
54	Chris Dines	GS Avanti	V	1.9.16	8.24
55	Christopher Fennell	The Independent Pedaler			8.25
56	John Osborne	Folkestone Velo Club	V	1.7.40	8.26