

# **Bec Cycling Club**

Established 1924 President Jason Matthiae

## Open Hill Climb - Result Sheet

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations

Sunday 7<sup>th</sup> October 2018 - Course GH/31

### Organiser's comment

Thank you for riding our Open Hill Climb and congratulations to all the prize winners. We have a new name on the Mr & Mrs Beckett trophy as Chris Crabtree (Orwell Velo) produced a sub 1:50 ride to take the title. An outstanding ride by junior Robbie White (Arctic Tacx RT) saw him take second place and Rowan Brackston (London Dynamo) repeated his third place of last year. The Rapha trio of Thomas Perren, Richard Aoplin and John Blight were fastest team to ensure the Rapha name appears on the trophy for the second time.

Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon) and Glyndwr Griffiths (73 Degrees CC) made a welcome return to the Bec event to take the women's and vets title respectively. With Robbie White on the GC podium, Nicholas Candy (North Road CC) took the fastest junior prize and in the new Juvenile category James Gilmore (Preston Park Youth CC) prevented an O'Brien family whitewash by beating Joseph and Bobbie into second and third paces respectively. A special mention goes to ten year old Finlay O'Brien (Lea Valley Youth CC) who is probably our youngest ever rider and finished just inside 4 minutes.

Thank you to our sponsors Rapha, Supreme Engraving Awards, Jakes Paints and Garry Beckett whose support is greatly appreciated. Thanks also to our official timekeepers Richard Blackmore and Mike Labram, and to Full Gas Cycling for providing the electronic timing equipment that we trialled for the first time this year. And finally, a big thank you to Tony Gibb who once again brought the race alive with his great commentary.

All bike races rely on the generosity of volunteers and I am indebted to the members and friends of the Bec who gave up their time to help make the event run smoothly with a great team effort. I couldn't do it without you.

I hope to see you all again next year for more fun in the Surrey Hills.



#### **PRIZE WINNERS**

## **General Classification**

1 <sup>st</sup>	Chris Crabtree	Orwell Velo	1:49.3	Mr & Mrs Beckett Trophy + Rapha Goods + medal + £100 + 2 tickets to Bec Annual luncheon and prize presentation
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Robbie White	Arctic Tacx RT	1:51.6	Rapha goods + medal + £80
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Rowan Brackston	Imperial College CC	1:51.9	Rapha goods + medal + £60

#### Women

1 <sup>st</sup>	Jacintha Hamilton-Love	Dulwich Paragon CC	2:44.0	Rapha goods + medal + £40
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Jennifer Andrews	CC Ashwell	2:52.8	Rapha goods + medal + £30
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Eleanor Bishop	Elite Cycling	3:04.8	Rapha goods + medal + £20

## **Juniors**

1 <sup>st</sup>	Nicholas Candy	North Road CC	2:01.9	Rapha goods + medal + £40
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Theo Tadros	TrainSharp	2:08.4	Rapha goods + medal + £30
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Freddie Mitchell	VC Londres	2:15.1	Rapha goods + medal + £20

#### **Juveniles**

1 <sup>st</sup>	James Gilmore	Preston Park Youth CC	2:28.7	Rapha goods + medal + £40
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Joseph O'Brien	Zappi RT	2:49.7	Rapha goods + medal + £30
3rd	Bobbie O'Brien	Lea Valley Youth CC	3:19.7	Rapha goods + medal + £20

## Vets

1 <sup>st</sup>	Glyndwr Griffiths	73 Degrees CC	1:53.0	Rapha goods + medal + £40
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Bill Bell	Bigfoot CC	1:59.8	Rapha goods + medal + £30
3rd	Richard Cartland	South Downs Bikes	2:00.1	Rapha goods + medal + £20

#### **Fastest Team of 3**

Rapha CC					
Thomas Perren	2:01.6	Dec On an Hill Olimb translate (C400 and Langella C45) and the Dec Association decree			
Richard Applin	2:03.7	Bec Open Hill Climb trophy + £100 each + medals + 3 tickets to Bec Annual luncheon			
John Blight	2:04.5	and prize presentation			
	6:09.8				