

Rutland CC "Mam Nick" Hill Climb – Saturday 7th October 2017, First rider off at 10.01am Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

Course

Mam Nick from Barber Booth - OHC/10. The hill is approximately 2.1km, with an average gradient of 10.1%. Start at the bus stop (at co-ordinates 53.359480N latitude and -1.830793W longitude). Finish at the bus stop approx. 100 metres from the summit (co-ordinates 53.347597N latitude and 1.813672W longitude).

Course Records: Men: Chris Dyke 6.27.1 (2016) Women: Rebecca Goodson 8.01.2 (2016)

Chris Marshall-Bell did some research for a Cycling Weekly article, and found out that Peter Graham rode the climb in 6.34.6 in the 1958 BLRC Hill Climb Championships. Until Chris Dyke broke this last year, we think this was the longest standing hill climb record in the country!

Officials

TIME KEEPERS:
Marshalls and Helpers
EVENT HEADQUARTERS:
EVENT SECRETARY:
Mob. 07759 808444
n.latimer@sheffield.ac.uk

Malcolm Smith & Phil Minto
Rutland CC Members and friends
Edale Village Hall (S33 7ZD roughly)
Nick Latimer
Willow Bank, Main Road, Grindleford, S32 2HE

Prizes

Please note: one rider, one prize (apart from team prize)

	Fastest	Women	18 and Under	Vets	Team (3 riders)	
1	£50	£50	£20	£40	£10 each	
2	£30	£30		£20		
3	£20	£20		£10		
4	£15					
5	£10	Plus special prizes provided by Mamnick				

We aim to award prizes on the day. Thanks very much to Mamnick (http://www.mamnick.com/) for donating some high class prizes. Please stick around for some home-made cakes and a hot drink, and for the prize-giving.

Mamnick is a brand that is inspired by the picturesque scenes of the Peak District, run by a Rutland CC member. Their ethos is to "Do one thing at a time, as beautifully as possible". From chip forks and cycle clips made from Sheffield steel, to leather shoes, shirts and jackets, Mamnick has something, beautifully made in the UK and Japan.

HQ and Parking

This year the HQ is in Edale Village Hall. Numbers will be available at the HQ. Ample parking is available in the National Park pay & display car park (but I'm afraid you will have to pay, unless the machines are broken).

Keep your head up while riding and obey the rules of the road. Remember that marshals are there to warn traffic, not to stop it. Take responsibility for your own riding at all times.

Please note

There are some tight corners on the climb – make sure you stay on the left side of the road. In the past riders have cut the final corner despite oncoming traffic – marshals will be present to prevent this this year. RIDERS WHO CUT THIS CORNER WILL BE DISQUALIFIED. PLEASE DON'T MAKE ME DQ ANYONE THIS YEAR – STAY ON THE LEFT-HAND-SIDE OF THE ROAD! There will be catchers at the top, but it is a blind summit so try to stay in control. Descend carefully. No warming up on the course once the event has begun. The finish is about 100 metres before the top so start your sprint early. Mam Nick can be a cold descent. Feel free to leave a warm jersey to be transported to the top when you sign on – but please note that you'll have to do this before 9.30am. Please note that the start is approximately 1000 metres from the HQ – please allow enough time to make your start.

Transporting results: There is no mobile phone reception at Mam Nick. Riders may be asked to take a slip of paper with times on it back to the HQ.

IN THE INTERESTS OF YOUR OWN SAFETY: Cycling Time Trials and the event promoters strongly advise you to wear a HARD SHELL HELMET that meets an internationally accepted safety standard. In accordance with Regulation 15 ALL JUNIOR competitors must wear Protective Hard Shell Helmets. It is recommended that a working rear light, either flashing or constant, is fitted to the machine in a position visible to following road users and is active whilst the machine is in use.

NO	NAME	AGE	CLUB	OFF AT
1	Paul Forster	42	7 Hills Cycling Club	10:01
2	Elliot Buchanan	26	Common Lane Occasionals	10:02
3	Joseph Molyneaux	24	Leek Cyclists' Club	10:03
4	Rich Cross	45	Common Lane Occasionals	10:04
5	David Morrison	31	7 Hills Cycling Club	10:05
6	Hedley Skelton	38	Common Lane Occasionals	10:06
7	Mick Kelly	59	Team Milton Keynes	10:07
8	Andrew Peat	36	Solihull CC	10:08
9	Pierre Drezet	48	Common Lane Occasionals	10:09
10	Will Powell	20	University of Sheffield Cycling Club	10:10
11	Kieran Smith	15	Bolsover and District CC	10:11
12	Nigel Finch	62	Mercia - Lloyds Cycles CC	10:12

13	Paul Targett	52	Pendle Forest CC	10:13
14	Robert Telford	23	University of Sheffield Cycling Club	10:14
15	Conor Cairns	49	Bolsover and District CC	10:15
16	Kevin White	48	Matlock CC	10:16
17	Paul Faulkner	48	Brighton Phoenix Triathlon Club	10:17
18	Pete Laud	44	Common Lane Occasionals	10:18
19	Tom Andrews	27	University of Sheffield Cycling Club	10:19
20	Jake Hagyard	23	Rutland Cycling Club	10:20
21	Paul Armstrong	32	Sheffrec CC	10:21
22	Daniel Collier	21	University of Sheffield Cycling Club	10:22
23	Robert Rogers	20	Birkenhead North End CC	10:23
24	Neil Bentley	48	Sheffrec CC	10:24
25	Nick Boden	42	Common Lane Occasionals	10:25
26	Allan Wailoo	45	7 Hills Cycling Club	10:26
27	Jez Reynard	48	Common Lane Occasionals	10:27
28	John Hunt	27	Beacon Roads CC	10:28
29	Karen Brooks	58	WCS Racing Team	10:29
30	Claire Swobada	40	Chorlton Velo	10:30
31	Anita Cavell	47	WCS Racing Team	10:31
32	Jo Jebb	39	Common Lane Occasionals	10:32
33	Jessica Rhodes-	27	Beacon Roads CC	10:33
34	Alex Deck	50	Rutland Cycling Club	10:34
35	Rebecca Goodson	26	Velo Schils Interbike RT	10:35
36	William Glover	28	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	10:36
37	Jake Birkin	26	Clay Cross RT	10:37
38	Nicholas Latimer	35	Rutland Cycling Club	10:38
39	Tony Cope	44	Leek Cyclists' Club	10:39
40	Josh Curtis	20	Lovelo Cinelli RT	10:40
41	John Hind	52	Bolsover and District CC	10:41
42	James Hill	21	RST Racing Team	10:42
43	Pete Crawforth	31	Veloviewer	10:43
44	Guy Bridgewood	24	University of Sheffield Cycling Club	10:44
45	Rhys Roberts	29	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	10:45
46	Dave Archer	35	Bolsover and District CC	10:46
47	Chris Osment	40	Matlock CC	10:47
48	Andrew Sedgewick	44	Rutland Cycling Club	10:48
49	Dominic Slinn	40	Macclesfield Wheelers	10:49
50	Luke Hind	17	Team Jewson - MI Racing ~Poly Pipe~McCann	10:50
51	Chris Edmondson	41	Velotik Racing Team	10:51
52	Callum Stewart	33	East London Velo	10:52
53	Rick Bailey	30	Team B38/Underpin Racing	10:53
54	Oliver Bridgewood	32	Spokes BPC Racing	10:54
55	Patrick Clark	21	Team B38/Underpin Racing	10:55
56	Sam Clark	37	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	10:56
57	Andy Nichols	27	Team B38/Underpin Racing	10:57
58	Lee Baldwin	35	VCUK Velochampion Racing Team	10:58