

Reading Cycling Club

The Colin Roberts Memorial 10mile time trial on the H10/1 Woolhampton – Thatcham course at 2pm on Saturday 5th August 2017

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations In the interests of your own safety; Cycling Time Trials strongly advises you to wear a hard shell helmet that meets an internationally accepted safety standard (a "safe" helmet)

Organiser: Rob Thompson 5 Greenfields Road, Reading. RG2 8SF. 07885719750.

R081et@googlemail.com

Timekeepers: Marion Fountain – Didcot Phoenix CC & Brian Perry – Reading CC

Event HQ: Aldermaston Parish Hall (note, not the school as recent years)

The Street, Aldermaston. RG7 4LW

Event Team: Matt Simmons, Peter Corfe, Ruth Barnes, Tom Webb, Pat Brown, Doug

Aspinall, Tom Fricker, Liz Johns, Peter Stoker, Jacinto Pereira, Mick Fountain

& Mike Manning

Report: On arrival at the HQ, the event team and early starters were greeted by bright

sunshine, but forecasts of heavy showers. A westerly breeze was present, but

likely quite variable due to the likely showers.

The event began in the dry, but within a few minutes of the first starters, a heavy shower with some thunder struck the course. The nature of the weather passing the course means timings of the rain at different points was variable, the far marshals reporting rain stopped at 2:15, but still rain at the HQ at 2:30. Later starters certainly had the best of conditions as once the shower passed the sun came out and temperature picked back up, and very wet early starters began to arrive at HQ. There was one unfortunate (Adam Watts, of Weybridge Wheelers) none finisher due to a puncture.

Despite the best efforts of the weather, the time keepers, Marion Fountain (finish) and Brian Perry (start) kept things running smoothly and we were ably helped by a number of volunteer helpers listed above, many thanks to them all. The competitors and event team fuelled and warmed with teas and coffees and did a good job of eating most of the cake etc provided – well done!

The tandem event had 2 entries, won by Paul Holdsworth and Gilly Blundell in a time of 22:29 beating Russell Sparkes and Tracy Compton in second place with 26:38.

The solo event had 3 finishers inside 22 minutes, all very close on time. The winner was Mike Knight (Team Bottrill / HSS hire) in 21:23, just 2 seconds ahead of second placed Nicolas Stagg (Hounslow & District Wheelers) in 21:25 and Nathan Gosling (Guernsey Velo Club) 3rd in 21:32.

In the women's event the winner was Anastasia Bowler (AS Test Team) with 24:46, Laura Vipond (Islington Cycling Club) came in second in 27:28 and third was Pippa O'Brien (RT PODA) in 29:33.

In the veterans, the winner was Nicolas Stagg (Hounslow & District Wheelers) with +5:02, 2nd place Alan Allcock (Didcott Phoenix CC) with +4:39, who just edged out Philip Watts (North Hampshire RC) with +4:37.

Prizes will be sent out by post.

Thank you to all the riders who turned up, I hope you enjoyed the event despite the best efforts of nature. My special thanks go to the timekeepers, helpers and marshalls that contributed their effort to making the event run, and remaining cheerful despite getting a soaking. I hope to see you all again next year.

Results table:

Position						
overall	RIDER	CLUB	TIME	VET +-	No.	
1	Mike Knight	Team Bottrill / HSS Hire	21:23		41	
2	Nicolas Stagg	Hounslow & District Whs	21:25	5:02+	40	
3	Nathan Gosling	Guernsey Velo Club	21:32		52	
4	James Cadman	Hounslow & District Whs	22:01		65	
5	Anthony Atkin	Didcot Phoenix CC	22:12		43	
6	Paul Holdsworth and Gilly Blundell	Maidenhead& Dist	22:29		1	Tandem
7	Simon McGowan	Didcot Phoenix CC	22:39	4:15+	56	
8	Philip Watts	North Hampshire RC	22:43	4:37+	20	
9	Sam Clarke	Team Bottrill	22:45		16	
10	Jacob Storey	Islington Cycling Club	22:51		63	
11	Thomas Carding	NLTCBMBC	22:54		57	
12	Alan Allcock	Didcot Phoenix CC	23:12	4:39+	51	
13	Barry Eeles	North Hampshire RC	23:13	3:32+	21	
14	Dan Charleston	High Wycombe CC	23:19	2:59+	38	
15	Ray Sullivan	Metropolitan Police CC	23:21	3:24+	61	
16	Neil Blundell	Hounslow & District Whs	23:25	3:39+	13	
17	Adam Evans	Banjo Cycles	23:32	2:51+	32	
18	Andrew Payne	Maidenhead & District CC	23:38	3:36+	5	
19	Hans Nilsson	London Phoenix CC	24:08	3:36+	47	
20	Adam Wilkinson	Velo Club Venta	24:11		53	
21	Michael Cope	Kettering CC	24:15	3:05+	66	
22	John Bourton	Bicester Millennium CC	24:42	3:24+	26	
23	Anastasia Bowler (W)	AS Test Team	24:46		48	
24	Michael Harrison	North Hampshire RC	24:58	1:11+	67	
25	Cliff Voller	Newbury RC	25:01	3:22+	6	
26	Jordan Sanders	Reading University Road CC	25:07		8	
27	Russell Sparkes and Tracy Compton	Redmon CC	26:38		3	Tandem
28	Leslie Howson	Hounslow & District Whs	26:48		29	
29	Philip Burgin	Newbury RC	27:27	0:47+	59	
30	Laura Vipond (W)	Islington Cycling Club	27:28		49	
31	Robert Jolliffe	New Forest CC	28:14	0:00+	24	
32	Pippa O'Brien (W)	RT PODA	29:33	0:07-	9	
33	Brian Moon	Willesden CC	29:49	0:35-	39	