RTTC Classic Series Rd 5 - Event Preview

Share this post:

The RTTC Classic Series of time trials heads to Wales this weekend for Sunday's fifth round of the TT Series. The West Wales Cyclists' League promote the 19.5-mile event at Cefneithin in Carmarthenshire.


Philip Graves (Clifton CC York), winner of the last three rounds, heads the entry with competition coming from Dean Robson (Nopinz), Chris Fennell (Thanet RC), George Evans (Team Bottrill) and Jack O'Neil (Mike Vaughan Cycles) plus a good entry of local riders.

Jackie Field


The Women are led by current Series leader Jackie Field (CC Ashwell), Kelly Murphy (Boot out Breast Cancer), winner of the last round, Claire Swoboda (Starley Racing) second to Murphy last time out, and Crystal Spearman (Nopinz). Junior Series leader Jamie Holmes (Mid Shropshire Wheelers) is present while David Hargreaves (North Lancs RC) and Matthew Postle (Bush Healthcare CRT) are the leading Veterans.


David Murphy (Liverpool Mercury Dolan CC) defends his lead in the Paracycling competition with Matthew Robertson (Woolwich CC) and Kristy Howells (Boot out Breast Cancer) the other Series regulars also present.

All of the riders face the same distance, 19.5 miles of an undulating Carmel-Cefneithin circuit. The course record is held by Kieron Davies, 43-54, set in 2013.

Event headquarters are at the Village Hall, Heol Parc, Cefneithin, near Cross Hands, SA14 7DE. The first rider is off at 10.01 with Graves last off at 11.05.