Don't Look Back in Anger: This time last year

Share this post:

After 24-hours of racing a competition record fell by just three miles this time last year at the National 24-hour Championships.

Graham Kemp (Team Bottrill) took the men’s record to the wire on the Cheshire course clocking up 544.32 miles at the close of the 24 hours, beating Andy Wilkinson’s old mark by three miles.

It was Kemp’s first attempt at the 24-hour title after witnessing the event the previous season.

Meanwhile in the women’s race the competition record also fell with Christina Murray (Army Cycling) taking the win covering 478.42 miles, 17 miles more than the previous record Christine Roberts had held for 26 years.

In a phenomenal women’s event the competition record was broken three times with Crystal Spearman taking second (464.70 miles) while Pip Jenkins (Southborough & District Wheelers) finished third with 463.80 miles.

Emma Lewis

Reigning men’s champion Andy Jackson was in good form and looked to challenge Kemp until a nasty collision saw his hopes dashed.

Michael Broadwith (Arctic Aircon RT) eventually finished second with a distance of 533.99 miles while team-mate Nick Clarke finished third (528.02).

After previously winning the National 50, 100 and circuit titles, the seemingly unbeatable, Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) suffered a rare defeat in the 25.

It required a personal best of 44-58 for Chris Fennell (Independent Pedaler) to snatch the victory over his rival by a narrow margin of eight seconds over Bialoblocki, while Ioan Smallwood (Cardiff Ajax CC) took third in 47-07.

In the women’s event Emma Lewis (Independent Pedaler) clocked 50-38 to win by more than two minutes from Anna Turvey (Drag2Zero).

The Independent Pedaler duo of Fennell and Lewis were also triumphant the previous day in the VTTA Kent 10.

Fennell was in emphatic form storming around the course near Ham Street in an unassailable time of 18-34.

Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC) led the remainder of the field home in 20-02 while Lewis also stormed to the women’s victory and third overall in 20-36.

Elsewhere, Ben Norbury took a fine victory for the host club at the Congleton CC 50 near Cranage in Cheshire.

After also winning the Buxton CC 10 during the previous month Norbury was on the podium top step once again in 1-48-31.

Adam Darby (Transition Race Team) put in a strong ride for second in 1-50-55 while David Shackleton (ABC Centreville) finished third after a close fight.

Claire Harrison (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) was the women’s victor.

Josh Griffiths

Down in Wiltshire, Corinne Clarke (Vitfor OTE) had a ride to remember as she recorded a new course record on her way to the women’s win at the Bristol South CC 50.

Clarke’s time of 2-12-25 was almost five minutes quicker than her nearest rival.

Josh Griffiths (Bikestrong – KTM) was also a comfortable victory in the men’s event with his 1-59-54 almost two minutes quicker than Luke Smith (Bristol South CC) while Daniel Kempe (Bristol South CC) finished third.

Over the shorter 25-mile distance Conrad Moss (NOPINZ) added another victory to his honours in the Mid Devon CC 25 near Buckfastleigh.

Moss put in an emphatic performance to win in 48-46 ahead of Gavin MacDougall (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA) in second clocking 51-28 while Josh Coyne (Bpm Coaching) finished third a further 20 seconds back.

Charlotte Marshall (Royal Navy and Royal Marines CA) took the women’s victory in 1-00-59.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. BG