Don't Look Back in Anger: This time last year

Share this post:

VETERAN riders took centre stage this time 12 months ago as they fought out honours in the VTTA National 50 Championships.

Karen Ledger (Ace Test Team) was biggest winner on the day in East Yorkshire as her overall time one hour, 56 minutes and 33 seconds and with a +33-00 clinched her the top step on the podium as fastest overall female.

Andy Jackson

She was also awarded the Curtis Cup for the best time on standard across the whole championship.

Meanwhile, Andy Jackson (AeroCoach) showed his stamina over the distance to take the men’s honours in a time of 1-45-09 and with a +31-50 to finish as the fastest male on standard.

Jackson went better than his third spot in the VTTA National 25-Mile Championship beating Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) into second and David Hargreaves (North Lancs RC) finished third.

The Emergency Services 10 and 25 Championships were also up from grabs over two days as part of the Derby Mercury RC 10 & 25.

Chris Smart (GTR- Return to life) and Emma Lewis (The Independent Pedaler) had weekends to remember as they took both crowns.

Very warm conditions for Saturday’s 10 along the A46 led to fast times with Smart fastest of the lot in 19-06.

Veteran rider John Lucock (Born to Bike- Bridgtown Cycles) went off as scratch rider having won the Emergency Services 10 & 25 the year before but had to settle for second on this occasion 20 seconds behind.

Meanwhile, Lewis blew her competition away clocking a time of 19-43, which was also good enough for third overall.

Despite competing over a lumpier 25 course in Bingham, Nottinghamshire, the following day the victors were once again Smart and Lewis.

Smart had the confidence of the previous day’s victory and took top spot once again with a time of 52 minutes and 14 seconds.

Despite bettering his time from the previous year Lucock had to settle for second again clocking 52-53.

Once again Lewis stormed her way to the women’s title and took third overall in 54-40.

Lauren Creamer

Meanwhile, the long-distance specialists headed to Cambridgeshire for the Eastern Counties CA 100.

Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) was out to prove a point winning the women’s event by almost nine minutes with a time of 3-44-22.

Tim McEvoy (Lanhydrock Wheelers) was also a comfortable victor in the men’s event with his winning time of 3-24-41 nearly two minutes quicker than Paul Hart (Southend Wheelers) while Neil Lauder (Arctic Aircon RT) wrapped up the podium in 3-27-08.

Lauder also led Arctic Tacx to a new national team competition record with a time of 3-27-08. He was joined in the winning trio by Nick Clarke and Jonathan Shubert.

In the undulating, but much shorter, Team Bottrill 10 a time of 20 minutes and 24 seconds saw David Mead (Team Rapid) narrowly miss Matt Bottrill’s course record by two seconds on his way to victory.

Under-23 rider Michael Gill (EMC Cycling) led the charge for second clocking 20-45 while Leon Wright (Race Hub) took third a further 10 seconds behind.

Lauren Creamer (Brotherton Cycles) was clear victor in the women’s event finishing in 23-33.

Over in Derbyshire it was Oliver Peckover (ActivEdge Race Team p/b Cooper/BMW Inchcape) who prevailed on the countryside roads in the Matlock CC 25.

His time of 52-49 was over 30 seconds faster than Neal Parkin (Team Bottrill) while Liam Bosley (Derby Mercury RC) finished third.

In the women’s category, Elizabeth Burgess (Derby Triathlon Club) showed her improvement to take first place in 1-03-27.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. BG