Don't Look Back in Anger: This time last year

Share this post:

We might not be able to compete with the Coronavirus lockdown in full swing, but we can look back to what was happening this time last year!

Kent was the place to be 12 months ago, with Chris Fennell and Emma Lewis both breaking course records on two occasions in the county.

Team-mates at The Independent Pedaler, Lewis and Fennell blitzed their way to victory in the Medway Velo 10 on the Saturday and again in the De Laune CC 25 on the Sunday.

Fennell won the Medway Velo event in 18-56, faster by more than a minute from his nearest rival, while Lewis clocked 21-19 to finish fifth fastest overall. And the following day Lewis finished third fastest out of all men and women with an impressive time of 53-53, while Fennell was once again the top male rider with 48-55.

Adam Duggleby

Lewis and Fennell weren’t the only riders to bag two wins in two days last weekend - Adam Duggleby did too.

The Vive le Velo rider set a new course record in the Sheffrec CC 25 on the Saturday, then the following day he was victorious in the Selby CC 10, his time of 19-38 again being a new course record.

Course records also fell in the Tyneside Vagabonds CC 47-mile mountain time trial near Belsay, with Fiona Burnie and Adam Wild victorious.

Wild (GS Metro) sliced 40 seconds from Olympic ace Chris Newton’s 2010 men’s course record of 1-50-16, clocking 1-49-30 to win by almost eight minutes. And reigning national hill-climb champion Fiona Burnie (GS Metro) also broke the women’s course record with her time of 2-14-43.

In South Wales, Andy Jackson (AeroCoach) and Vicky Jowett (Plymouth Corinthian CC) were fastest male and female riders in the Bike Pace 50-mile time trial near Abergavenny.

Jackson’s time of 1-39-33 was the first time he had averaged over 30mph for the distance and gave him the win by 53 seconds from Stuart Bottrill, while Jowett took the women’s prize with a time of 1-57-50.

Anneleen Bosma and John Hale were the fastest male and female respectively at the Farnham Road Club 10-mile time trial in Hampshire 12 months ago.

Bosma’s time of 21-39 gave the Team LDN rider victory by 22 seconds from Melanie Sneddon (TORQ Performance). And WORX Factory Racing rider Hale clocked 19-05 to win by 30 seconds from Felix Wilkinson (Velo Club Montpellier).

And nearby in Lyndhurst Christina Murray and Matthew Buckley were the fastest male and female riders respectively at the Sotonia CC 10.

Christina Murray

Buckley (Andover Wheelers) clocked a time of 20-58 to win by 15 seconds, while Murray took the win ahead of former multiple national champion and competition record holder Julia Shaw (Drag2zero).

Mark Smith and Jennifer George were the fastest male and female respectively at the Southern Counties CU 10-mile time trial that took place near North Holmwood in Surrey.

45-year-old Smith (Crawley Wheelers) clocked 20-31 to win by almost two minutes, while George (Torelli) was fourth overall with an impressive 23-00.

George then went on to be fastest female again in the Addiscombe CC 25 in West Sussex on Sunday, where Rupert Graham (Spirit Tifosi) was fastest male with 52-55.

* All news items are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. BG.