Share this post:


A busy weekend of time trialling up and down the country with British Time Trial Champion Alex Dowsett (Movistar) taking a break from road racing and returning to his Essex home to ride and win two of our domestic events. Saturday saw him ride off with the Eastern Counties CA 10-mile event with a 17-46 beating Rob Young (Team Vision Racing) by 1-56 and third placed Justin Layne (CC Ashwell) by 2-03.


Dowsett followed that up on Sunday with success in the first of the RTTC Classic Time Trial Series in the Chelmer CC promotion at Finchingfield. Former hour record holder Dowsett covered the 25.6 miles in 51-54, an average of over 29mph, to better Matthew Bottrill's event record of 53-42 set in 2011. Second placed Matthew Smith (Team Bottrill) was 3-31 behind Dowsett  while TT Series regular Dean Robson (Nopinz) claimed third with a 56-17. Last year's Espoir's Champion finished fourth, a 57-13 putting him 14 seconds ahead of fellow Espoir Simon Alexander (Richardsons-Trek RT).


Claire Rose
Rik Waddon

The Women's event was dominated by the Podium Ambition squad who filled the first three places thanks to Claire Rose, 59-39, Sara Headley, 1-02-16, and Elizabeth-Jane Harris, 1-05-06. Adalta CC's Emma Lewis was fourth with a 1-05-06 preventing Podium Ambition from filling that spot as well.

Rik Waddon (Para T) continued his winning ways in the TT Series taking the honours ahead of Adrian Jones (Jedi Cycle Sport) and Katie Toft (Mossley CRT) with his adjusted time of 55-59 (actual 1-04-18).

Julian Ramsbottom (Pedal Pushers RT) kicked off his defence of his 2015 title finishing second to Ian Holbrook (Stone Wheelers) winner of this round with 59-41 to Rambottom's 1-01-05. Greg Parker (VC St Raphael) rounded out the top three with his 1-01-46. the Target Time Series fell to Richard Glover (CC Ashwell) with a +8-41 to Holbrook's +6-36.




James Gullen (Pedal Heaven RT) showed the way hom in the West Pennine RC Hilly `14`, a 30-40 giving him 1-17 in hand over Derek Parkinson (Springfield Financial). Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) took 32-31 for the 14 miles which earned him third place. Maggie Biggs (Team Bader Amputees) finished with a 47-46, best woman.


The Hemel Hempstead CC Hilly Sid Latchford Memorial 21.5-mile event saw an Arctic-Tacx RT one-two with National 24-hour Champion Michael Broadwith, 50-43, beating team mate Danny Axford by 48 seconds while Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon) completed the top trio with his 52-24. Arctic-Tacx RT also took the team, Paul Lewis their third counter. The promoting club's Jody Connibear was fastest woman with a 1-02-25.


Billy Oliver (Team Bottrill) headed the leader board in the Royal Forest Dean CC's`25`, a 53-41 putting him 27 seconds clear of Harry Walton (Cheltenham & County CC). Jason Streather led VC St Raphael to a team win while Claire Harris (Bristol & District Triathles) clocked a 1-04-51, best woman. Daniel Barnett added to Team Bottrill's successes with victory in the Bolsover & District CC `10` although it was a close thing, Barnett's 20-53 just three seconds better than Team Swift's Simon Beldon's second placed 20-56. The women's prize went to Ann Walsham (Maxx RT) with her 25-26.
Walsham followed that up with a 1-13-55 in the Spalding CC Hilly `27`, again best of the women, which was won by James Gelsthorpe (Peterborough CC) with a 58-02 beating James Perkins (Team Bottrill) by four seconds.   


Now riding with drag2zero, Keith Murray powered to victory in the Teesdale CRC Hilly `21` with a 46-26. Paul Thirling (Stockton Wheelers) and Elliott Gowland (Team Bottrill) were second and third respectively with their 47-51 and 48-58. A 55-55 gave Kerry Gowland (Team Bottrill) the women's award, the second of the weekend.

The Southern Counties CU Don Glover Memorial `21`went to Carl Ferri (Cadence Performance), a 51-50 leaving him with 11 seconds in hand over Keith Lea (Paceline RT). Improving 45 seconds on her previous best in the event, Katie Crowe (Dulwich Paragon) finished with a 1-03-39. fastest woman.

Team Swift's Blaire Metcalf proved the fastest in the Cramlington CC `18` with his 40-31, 10 seconds up on Mark Strong (Breeze Bikes RT). The Army CU's Mark Robertson finished in third with a 40-48 and Angela Hibbs (Fusion RT) was fastest of the ladies  recording 42-26.

Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) was in form winning the East Sussex CA Hardriders `15.6` with his 37-22 from Pete Morris (Team ASL360), 37-36. Tadros was also fastest over the timed climb, a 3-04.4 six seconds faster than Morris managed. Lewes Wanderers' Tamar Vandrhaas was first woman with her 47-06.


Philip Graves (Clifton CC York) continued his winning run with a 51-13 in the Harrogate Nova CC `24`. Andy Jackson (SSLL RT) and Joel Wainman (SSLL RT) were second and third with their respective 51-49 and 54-32. The two lap event showed Graves establishing an early lead with a 26-04 to Jackson's 26-14 on lap one followed by a second leg of 25-09 to Jackson's 25-35.