Weekend Round-up, May 4-6 2019

Share this post:

Team-mates Chris Fennell and Emma Lewis both broke course records on their way to victory in the Wigmore CC 10 in Kent on Sunday.

Due to be a 25-mile event but changed because of emergency roadworks on the old course, the 10-mile event provided Fennell and Lewis, both riding for The Independent Pedaler, with the chance to set new marks for the Q10/6 course near Ashford.

Matt Moorhouse

And they both took that chance with both hands.

23-year-old Fennell clocked exactly 20 minutes to lower the old record by 1-50, while Lewis’s time of 21-50 was 2-20 better than the previous best by a woman on that course.

Elsewhere, Matt Moorhouse (Preston CC) and Anna Turvey (Drag2Zero) took victory in the men’s and women’s events in the Derwentside CC 40-mile mountain time trial.

The tough event, which takes riders over the border from Northumberland into Cumbria, has around 4,000-feet of climbing and takes place over 650 metres above sea level.

Moorhouse covered the course in 1-44-36, while Turvey clocked 1-51-38 despite unshipping her chain twice.

The weekend also included two hill-climb events, with the Kent Valley RC climb from Kendal to the summit of Shap being won by Jude Taylor (B38-Cycles in Motion) with 25-37, while Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) was 15 seconds slow and runner-up.

Charlotte Boothman

Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville) clocked 32-38 to win the women’s prize by 37 seconds from SportsLab rider Sarah Lewthwaite.

And on Sunday Macclesfield Wheelers staged a 2.2km climb of Tegg’s Nose in Cheshire, where Andy Cunningham (Ilkley CC) was victorious in 5-33.5, winning by about 13 seconds from Richard Gildea (Didcot Phoenix CC), while fastest woman was Rachael Brown (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) with 7-45.5.

In South Wales Stephanie Post and Tom Ward were the female and male winners respectively at the Welsh 25-Mile Championships near Rhigos on Sunday.

Post (Team Bottrill) clocked 52-30 to take the win by 37 seconds from multiple national record holder Alice Lethbridge (Drag2zero), while in the men’s event Tom Ward (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) was fastest with 47-15, giving him the win by 38 seconds from Ioan Smallwood (Cardiff Ajax CC).

Naomi Shinkins

In Hampshire Rich Hunt and Naomi Shinkins were victorious in New Forest CC’s 33-mile time trial on Sunday.

Hunt (Army Cycling) clocked a time of 1-14-30 to set the fastest time by any rider on the day and claim the top prize. And triathlete Naomi Shinkins (Bournemouth Cycleworks) finished her run with a time of 1-30-03 to set the fastest time by a female rider on the day.

David Mead and Liz Powell were the fastest male and female respectively at the Coventry CC 10 in Warwickshire on Saturday.

Powell (Drag2Zero) clocked 22-30 to win the women’s prize by 14 seconds, while Mead’s time of 20-08 gave him the overall win by 13 seconds from Andy Jackson (AeroCoach).

And in Cambridgeshire on Saturday Joe Perkins (Aerolab Ward Wheelz) snatched victory by just two seconds in the Lea Valley CC 10 while Emma Lewis (The Independant Pedaler) won the women’s event.

Perkins’ time of 18-41 was just two seconds quicker than runner-up Jason Bouttell (Team Vision Racing), while Lewis clocked 19-59 to win by 2-41 and secure the first of two wins over the weekend.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.