Weekend Round-up, Oct 20-21

Share this post:

Marcin Bialoblocki and Emma Lewis were crowned winners at the national Closed Circuit Championships at the Thruxton motor racing circuit in Hampshire on Sunday.

Marcin Bialoblocki

27-year-old Lewis from Herne Bay in Kent, who rides for The Independent Pedaler, clocked 24.46 for the 11.7-mile course, which took in five laps of the motor racing circuit.

That time was good enough for the win by 1-19 from Vicky Gill (DRAG2ZERO).

Bridgwater-based Polish ace Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) clocked an impressive 22-03 for the course, giving him the win in the men’s event by 27 seconds from Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler).

In the junior competition, Caitlin Peters (i-Team CC) and Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill) were the winners.

Caitlin Peters

In hill climbing, Beeston CC's Yasmin Marks was in winning form on Saturday, taking victory in the Belper BC event on Holly Lane, Ambergate. Her time of 4-55 set a new women’s course record for the Derbyshire climb.

And of the men, victory in the Belper BC event went to Andrew Feather (BCR Racing), the 33-year-old from Bath who clocked 3-13 to win by six seconds, while a flat tyre and broken spoke meant that 2016 national champion Adam Kenway (Vitus Pro Cycling) had to settle for third.

Kieran Savage

However, Kenway was victorious in Sunday’s Chesterfield Coureurs climb on Beeley Moor. He covered the 2.3-mile climb in 8-23.6 which was four seconds quicker than runner-up Andy Cunningham (Ilkley CC), while the best woman was Hannah Larbalestier (Boompods EDCO) who clocked 10-47.4 to win by 11 seconds from Claire Swoboda.

In Scotland, David Griffiths was victorious by just one second in the Inverclyde Velo hill-climb of Lyle Hill near Greenock. He covered the one-mile climb in 3-57.0 to leave Alex O’Brien (Garstang CC) second. The promoting club’s own Patricia Baird was the fastest female in 6-01.0.

Kieran Savage (Cycling Sheffield-Giant) was victorious in both the Drighlington BC climb of Scotchman Lane near Batley on Saturday, as well as the Yorkshire RC event on Sunday on Scotchman Lane. However, he had to settle for second in the Huddersfield RC climb at Elland on Sunday morning, with Jude Taylor (Team B38-Underpin Racing) winning that one.

Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) was fastest female in the Drighlington BC event on Saturday, while Hannah Riechert (Albarosa CC) won both the Huddersfield RC and Yorkshire RC events on Sunday.

Hannah Farran

In Somerset, Sam Lindsay (73 Degrees CC) won the Team Tor 2000 climb of West Close Hill in Priddy on Saturday, but had to settle for second in Sunday’s Bristol South CC climb on Burrington Combe, where Cameron Biddle (Halesowen A&CC) was the winner by just two seconds.

Hatti Archer (Bolsover and Dist CC) was fastest female in the Bristol South CC event, while Saturday’s Team Tor 200 event saw Anabell Orenz (North Cotswold CC) finish fastest female in 6-55.3, taking victory by 6.5 seconds from Joanne ago (Performance Cycles).

And in Northumberland, Zen Kyffin (Ribble Pro Cycling) won the Muckle CC climb of Prospect Hill near Corbridge on Sunday, while Hannah Farran (Boompods EDCO) was quickest of the women.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.