Closed Circuit Championship preview

Share this post:

The fifth National Closed- Circuit Championships take place at Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit on Sunday when nearly 300 competitors take part in the11.7- mile individual Men, Women and Junior title races promoted by the Antelope RT.  This year we also have the Inaugural 4-Up Team Trial Championship taking place over 10 miles, four laps of the circuit.

The Juniors open the day’s racing at 09.00am when 56 boys and girls chase the medals with Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill-Vanguard), third last year and girls’ winner Caitlin Peters (I-Team CC) head the listings.

Emma Lewis (The Independent Pedaler) returns to defend the 2017 title that she shared with Rachael Elliott (Drag2Zero). Lewis also came out on top in 2016 so she is looking to complete a hat-trick. Opposition can be expected from Nicola Juniper (Team Echelon), Elizabeth-Jane Harris (Beat Breast Cancer CC), Helen McKay (Les Filles RT), Vicky Gill (Drag2Zero) and Louise Scupham (Team Jadan Weldtite-Vive le Velo) who also feature in the 43-strong field.

Paul Elcock (AS Test Team) returns to defend his title as 2017 Champion as well as Brett Harwood (Team Bottrill-Vanguard), winner back in 2015 and 2017 runner-up Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler) but they and the rest of the 100+ field may find that Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) will continue claiming his winning ways as far as this season’s RTTC National Championships go.

Other names that catch the eye include Ryan Perry (Drag2Zero), Stuart Travis and George Evans (Team Bottrill-Vanguard), Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC), Jonathan Shubert (Arctic-Tacx RT), Charles Mitchell (A3crg) and Paul Hart (Southend Wheelers).

Bialoblocki sets off at 11.21am to cover five laps of Thruxton.

The 4-Up TTT follows at noon with 19 teams taking part in this inaugral event at the Hampshire venue. 

Words by David Taylor
CTT Publicity officer