Weekend Round-up, July 14-15

Share this post:

Just a week after leading Drag2Zero to a new women’s team competition record over 100 miles, Alice Lethbridge broke her own solo competition record for the distance as she powered to victory in the East District 100-mile Championships in Norfolk on Sunday.

The 33-year-old clocked a provisional 3-42-03 to take 34 seconds from her own 2017 previous best.

And her performance was all the more impressive given that a gear shifter dislodged from her tri bars and, after repairing it on the move with some plastic tape, she later faced a loosening tri bar.

Fastest overall on the day was Charles Mitchell (a3crg) with 3-26-04.

Tim Cartwright

Elsewhere, Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) was fastest in the Hounslow and District Wheelers 25 near Bentley in Hampshire. He clocked 49-03 to win by three minutes from Howard Shaw (Eastbourne Rovers) while fastest female was Rapha CC’s Lenka Vackova with 1-00-56.

In Devon, Geir Robinson (Regents Park Rouleurs) was fastest in the North Devon Wheelers 25, clocking 52-40 to win by 47 seconds from Lee Morgan (Team Bottrill). Best of the women was Rebecca Cornwell (Taw Velo0 with 1-02-51.

Newbury Road Club’s Tim Cartwright was fastest in the Andover Wheelers 10 near Picket Piece, clocking 18-21 which was 34 seconds quicker than Gary Chambers (NOPINZ), while Louisa Cooper (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) was top female with 22-55.

Richard Bickley and Katie Lukas were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Border City Wheelers 10 in Cumbria on Saturday.

Katie Lukas

Bickley, 35, clocked 19-42 for the L1010 near Cockermouth, giving him the win by 54 seconds from Craig Horseman (Beacon Wheelers), while Lukas, 44 and from Penrith, clocked 22-22 to win the women’s prize by a convincing margin of more than three minutes from Carol Westmorland (Border City Wheelers).

Brett Harwood won the Team Cambridge 10 at Cambourne on Saturday and was the only rider to go under 19 minutes with his time of 18-57. In the women’s category, it was Sophie Lankford who prevailed with 21-22.

Stuart Travis (Team Bottrill) was victorious in the Oxonian CC 10, his time of 18-48 being 47 seconds better than runner-up Robert West (AeroCoach), while Suzy Patience (Banbury Star CC) was fastest female with 23-35, just nine seconds quicker than Aimee Jones (Cowley Road Condors).

And in Cheshire, former national champion and record holder Andy Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers) showed he is still a force in time trialling when he took the win in Warrington Road Club’s 25-mile event on Saturday.

Gemma Johnson

He covered the Goostrey course in 52-20, winning by 24 seconds, while fastest female was Sarah Grant (Vision Racing) with 1-01-21.

Team Echelon’s Jon Howard was quickest in the Wyre Forest CRC 10, covering the Severn Stoke course in 20-34 which was just two seconds ahead of David Mead (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT).

Gemma Johnson (Beacon Roads CC) clocked 23-38 to take the women’s prize.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.