Weekend Time Trial Round-up, April 28-29

Share this post:

Kieron Davies (DRAG2ZERO) and Angela Carpenter (a3crg) raced to victory at the Charlotteville CC 50-mile time trial in Hampshire on Sunday, with Davies winning by just a handful of seconds.

David Janes.

His time of 1-39-08 was just 21 seconds faster than runner-up Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC), while Carpenter clocked 1-56-21 for the Bentley course to win the women’s prize by 1-28 from team-mate Laura Bartlett (a3crg).

Elsewhere, junior ace Pfeiffer Georgi (Liv CC Halo Cycles) was fastest female at the Cheltenham and County CC hardriders 22-mile event in Gloucestershire.

She clocked 54-51 to beat Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles) by nearly three minutes, while in the men’s event in form David Janes (Wheels of Dorset) notched up another win with a time of 47-30.

In County Durham, pro road racer Ben Hetherington (MTS Cycle Sport) was victorious in the Ferryhill Wheelers 10 at Sedgefield on Saturday, while Kerry Gowland (Houghton CC) was the quickest woman.

Gemma Frost.

22-year-old Hetherington clocked 19-58 which was 39 seconds ahead of runner-up Ross Walton (GS Metro), while Gowland covered the T105 course in 23-57.

Walton was also second 24 hours later, this time in the Houghton CC 10 at nearby Quarrington Hill. But this time it was GS Metro’s Danny Grieves who took the win, with Gemma Frost (Team Swift) beating Gowland to the women’s prize.

In South Yorkshire, Professional rider Connor Swift (Madison Genesis) smashed the course record by 49 seconds in the Birdwell Wheelers 25, while Kirsty Bramley (Team Swift) won the women’s event.

Riding only his second 25-mile time trial, Swift set a blistering time of 50 minutes and 53 seconds to take a clear victory and beat the previous course record of 51.42 set by Philip Graves in 2011.

Natasha Jarman.

In Kent, Natasha Jarman (Southborough & District Wheelers) and Robert Moore (Nuun-Sigma Sport London RT) pedalled their way to comfortable victories in the male and female categories at the De Laune CC’s 10.

Jarman clocked 24-19 for the Q10/24 course near Grain, while Moore’s time of 20-41 gave him the overall win by 1-44.

Elsewhere, Joshua Sandman (Team Backstedt Bike Performance) continued his impressive season by clinching victory in the Ludlow CC 10 in Shropshire, while Charlotte Chapman (Nova Riders) won the women’s event.

Simon Wilson (Ribble Pro Cycling) won the Wigan Wheelers 10 on Saturday, covering the L1022 course in 19-37, while Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville) was fastest female in this event which saw the Bilsborrow course used for an open time trial for the first time.

Simon Wilson.

But Wilson’s luck ran out the following day, when he punctured after five miles of the Wigan Wheelers 30-mile event and was a non-finisher.

In Cambridgeshire, in-form James Rix and Alice Lethbridge took victories in the VTTA East Anglia 25 on Saturday.

Rix (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) continued his fine form to make it three wins already in 2018 amongst a strong field of 109 riders in Cambridgeshire. And Lethbridge (DRAG2ZERO) was easily the fastest female on the E2/25, clocking 51-45 to win by more than two minutes.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.