RTTC National Team Time Trial Championship Preview

Share this post:

Another weekend and another RTTC National Time Trial Championship. A week after the Circuit Championship it’s the Team Time Trial Championship with newly crowned Circuit Champion Dan Bigham leading his Brother NRG Pro Cycling in his bid to add another title to his growing calling card.


It will not be an easy task for there is plenty of opposition in the 50-team line-up, including last year’s Silver and Bronze winning squads, SSLL RT and Team Bottrill-HSS Hire.  SSLL RT return with Joel Wainman and Andy Jackson while Simon Beldon replaces Jonathan Wears.


Team  Bottrill `A` team fields Matthew Bottrill, Brett Harwood and George Fox in one of the three teams the field.


All in all the event has 50 teams competing, including nine women’s squads, including all the 2016 Medal winners, Champions Chester RC with Jill Wilkinson, Rebecca Holland and Gina Riley; TORQ Performance with Melanie Sneddon, Janet Birkmyre and Madeline Moore and third placed Tavistock Wheelers with Vicki Lloyd-Walsh, Pippa MacDougall and Kath Fletcher.


Other headliners riding include James Coleman (DRK Racing), John Archibald (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing), Adam Gascoigne (Giant Store Rutland-Wattbike). Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT), John Dewey and Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill `B`).


The Championhsip is promoted by Yorkshire District on Sunday, 18 June, over a shade over 31 miles on the VTT1 course starting two miles south of Boroughbridge on the A168. Event HQ is at Great Ouseburn Village Hall, The Bungalow, Springfield Rise, YO26 9SE. First team is off at 10.01, the last 12.28.