Preview 1-2 April

Share this post:

Busy weekend ahead with the classic Nelson Wheelers 50-mile Circuit of the Dales with a star attraction, Olympic Gold Medallist Alastair Brownlee (Leeds Triathlon Centre), taking a two-year break from Triathlons to prepare for the  World Ironman Championships. Brownlee, Triathlon Gold Medal winner at the 2012 and 2016 Games, tackles the Circuit of the Dales at Ingleton where he faces Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC), Philip Graves (NOPINZ) and on form Dean Robson (Northover Vets-Rudy Project) among others.

Another interesting clash will be seen at the Merthyr CC `25` where Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill-HSS Hire), winner of last week’s Knight Composites Classic TT Series event, goes against Kieran Davies (Drag2ZERO). Rob Pears (Bath CC), George Evans (Team Bottrill-HSS Hire), Pfeiffer Georgi (Liv CC-Epic Coaching) and Joanna Knight (Bristol South CC) also ride.


Team SSLL RT are putting themselves about this weekend, Simon Beldon goes for the Withington Wheelers `25`, where Jill Wilkinson (Chester RC) and Nikola Matthews (Boot out Breast Cancer CC) are among the listed women; Andy Jackson and Jon Surtees go for the Team Salesengine `10` that includes Bronwen Ewing (Rye & District Wheelers), Ken Platts (Cambridge CC) and Ashley Cox (NOPINZ); Alastair Wareham is in the Yorkshire CF `10` while Joel Wainman goes for the Alford Wheelers `25`.

Melton Olympic CC `10` has Adam Gascoigne (Giant Store Rutland-Wattbike), James Perkins (Team Bottrill-HSS Hire) and Tom Ward (Langdale Leightweights) looking for success while the North Hants RC 18.5-mile event sees Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) riding the solo event and the two-up version with son Theo.


The New Forest CC 32-mile time trial has Dave Dent (GS Stella), James Copeland (Fareham Wheelers) Simon Berogna (VC St Raphael), Edward Renwick (Oxford City RC) and Glenn Longland (Antelope RT) in the line-up. The Southern Counties CU `25` has Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC), Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC), Paul Thompson (Epsom CC) with Madelaine Lee-Smith (Oxted CC) and Angela Radden-Rutt (The Cycleroom) among the women.

To the West, St Austell Wheelers `25` includes Conrad Moss (Mid Devon CC), Andrew Perkins (Mid Devon CC), Alex Jones (Team Elite-Paul Bethell Electrical), Matt Slater (Revo Racing) plus Crystal Spearman (NOPINZ) and Zoe Betteridge (Southfork Racing).


The Bishop Auckland CC Sporting `32`  should go Keith Murray’s way while Danny Grieves (GS Metro) and Dominic Munnelly (Newcastle Cheviot) challenge in the North Tynside Riders `27`.