Weekend Preview 10/11 September

Share this post:

Stratford CC have a busy weekend, promoting the GHS final on Saturday where the Countries District qualifiers take part in the National GHS Final, being held on the K33/10D. Last rider off is Evan Rouse (North Devon Wheelers) at 1330. 

Stratford CC then stage the National Circuit TT Championships on Sunday at Alcester in Warwickshire – and it also doubles up as the final round of the RTTC Classic TT Series.


Last man to set off on the 25-mile ride is Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles), while heading off shortly before him at two minute intervals are Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill), Brett Harwood (Terry Wright Cycles), National 25, 50 and 100 champion Ryan Perry (Langdale Lightweights), and Andy Jackson (SSLL Racing Team).


The women’s event has also attracted a quality field, led off by Claire Rose (Podium Ambition), while Julia Shaw (drag2zero) is off just before her. Also in with a shout are Alice Lethbridge (Starley Racing), and Crystal Spearman (No Pinz).


The junior field is headed up by Royal Navy and Royal Marines CA ace Nathan Allatt.


The fast R25/3h course will see plenty of action on Sunday, as the Port Talbot Wheelers stage a 25-mile time trial at Hirwaun.


Three weeks ago One Pro Cycling’s Marcin Bialoblocki clocked a personal best time of 45.29 on the same course, and he will be aiming to go even quicker – and perhaps challenge Alex Dowsett’s national competition record of 44.29 – on Sunday.


Among the other riders taking part are Marcus Christie (100% ME) and Steve Irwin (North Lancs RC), while the last woman off in a large field is Newbury RC’s Rachael Elliott.


The A63 in East Yorkshire will once again be busy with speed-seeking time triallists, as SSLL Racing Team stage a 10-mile event on the fast V718 course at South Cave on Saturday afternoon.


James Gullen – who equalled Alex Dowsett’s national competition record on the same course two weeks ago – will once again be aiming to break the record.


Also down to ride are fast men Marcin Bialoblocki (One Pro Cycling), Philip Graves (Clifton CC York) and Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC), while the women’s entry includes Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds CC).


The hill-climb season continues to gather pace.


This Saturday Cestria CC stage a 1,500-metre climb at Peth Bank near Lanchester, while Sunday sees East Lancashire Road Club’s two-stage events on Blackstone Edge and Peaslows Hill. 2014 National hill-climb champ and 2015 runner-up, Dan Evans (Team Elite) is last man off.